Politics, Literature, and Film Section Award Recipients

More on the Politics, Literature, and Film section

Wilson Carey McWilliams Best Paper Award
Pamela Jensen Book Award

Wilson Carey McWilliams Best Paper Award

The Wilson Carey McWilliams Best Paper Award is given for the best paper presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.

2022 Adriana Alfaro Altamirano, ITAM, Mexico City
"Narrative and the “Art of Listening”: Ricoeur, Arendt, and the Political Dangers of Storytelling"
2022 Erica Kunimoto, University of Toronto
"Wollstonecraft's Radicalism: Social Relations in Vindication and Maria"
2021 Elizabeth Barringer, Bard College
“Skulls and Flags: Contemporary Appropriations of Marvel’s Punisher”

Eunji Kim, Vanderbilt University
"Entertaining Beliefs in Economic Mobility"

2017 Jamie Aroosi, Yeshiva University, New York
“The Future of Human Nature: Rethinking Identity in the 21st Century."
2016  Arelene Saxenhouse, University of Michigan
"Save Our City: The Curious Absence of Aeschylus in Modern Political Thought." 
2014 Joshua Dienstag, University of California, Los Angeles
"When a Man Loves a Robot: Blade Runner's Humanism and the Questions of Cinema and Representation."
2011 Charles Rubin, Duquesne University
To Life: Golems, Monsters and th Biotechnology Future
2010 James Read, College of St Benedict and St John's University
"The Limits of Self-Reliance"
2007 John Lombardini III, Princeton University
The Comedy of the Philosopher-Kings: Aristophanes' Birds and Plato's Republic
2005 John Uhr, Australian National University
"Inequality and Inequity in Political Leadership: Henry Fielding's Satire in Jonathan Wild"
2004 Mary Keys, University of Notre Dame
"Tolkien's Tales and Political Philosophy in Liberal Democracy"
2003 Catherine Zuckert, University of Notre Dame
"Tom Sawyer: Potential President"
2002 Eduardo Velasquez, Washington & Lee University
"Where the Wild Things Are: Re-Creation, Fall, Re- and In-surrection in Chuck Palahniuks Fight Club"
2001 Michael Kochin, Tel Aviv University
"The Richardsonian Republic"
2001 Katherine Philippakis, Arizona State University
"The Richardson Republic"
1999 Paul Cantor, University of Virginia
"The Simpsons: Atomistic Politics and the Nuclear Family"




Pamela Jensen Book Award

The Pamela Jensen Book Award is for books that publish research in the areas of politics, literature, and film.


Michael J. Shapiro, University of Hawai‘i at Manoa
Punctuations: How the Arts Think the Political. Duke University Press, 2019.