Michael Brintnall Teaching and Learning Award 

Nominations for the 2024 APSA Awards have closed.

The Brintnall Award supports faculty attendance at the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference.

The award is named in honor of former APSA Executive Director Michael Brintnall, who was deeply committed to advancing the scholarship of teaching and learning in the discipline. The biennial award may include conference registration fees and a one-year complimentary APSA membership. 

Nomination Information

Contingent faculty, non-tenure track faculty, and faculty whose departments do not provide travel support are particularly encouraged to apply. Priority consideration is given to an applicant that: is presenting at the conference, is a first-time attendee, and on the lowest level of the income scale for APSA membership.  Applications should include a CV and 1 – 2 page personal statement.

Michael Brintnall Teaching & Learning Award Committee

Year Recipient Affiliation
2023 Andrea Alemán University of Texas at San Antonio
2022 Onursal Erol

Dale Mineshima-Lowe
University of Southern California

Birkbeck, University of London
2020 John Twichell University of Miami
2018 Janet Reilly Sarah Lawrence College

We are continually grateful for the contributions from APSA members and friends that make our work possible. Your donation helps continue the Brintnall Award and provide future scholars with important professional development opportunities. Thank you for your support of APSA and scholars across the discipline.

Donate now to Michael Brintnall Teaching and Learning Award Fund