APSA Award for Teaching Innovation 


Nominations for the 2024 APSA Awards have closed.


The APSA Award for Teaching Innovation honors a wide range of new directions in teaching.

The award carries a cash prize of $500 and financial support for travel costs, and is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting or the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference depending on the year.


Nomination Information




  • Eligibility: Self-nominations are accepted. Nominees do not have to be members of APSA, affiliated with an institution in the United States, or an American citizen in order to be considered for an award.

  • Examples of eligible nominations include a professor that used an innovative course syllabus or a new multimedia approach to reaching students.  All submissions should include:
    • Personal statement (written by the nominee) detailing the teaching innovation, its impact, and why this innovation deserves this honor.
    • Letter of nomination from nominating faculty (if relevant), briefly summarizing the teaching innovation and its impact, and explaining why it deserves this honor.
    • Other supporting documents of nominee and/or nominator’s choosing.





APSA Award for Teaching Innovation Committee

Chair: Dr. Allen Sens
University of British Columbia

Jyl J Josephson
Rutgers University-Newark

Dr. Rodrigo Nunes
St. Edwards University

Year Recipient Affiliation
2023 Andrea Alemán University of Texas at San Antonio
2022 Onursal Erol University of Southern California
2021 Megan Becker University of Southern California
2020 Jennie Sweet-Cushman Chatham University
2019 Nicole Kalaf-Hughes Bowling Green State University
2018 Eric Loepp University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
2017 Brooke Thomas Allen Macomb Community College
2016 Amanda Rosen Webster University
2015 Victor Asal SUNY, University at Albany
2014 Mika LaVaque-Manty University of Michigan
2013 Brian M. Harward Allegheny College
2011 Marjorie Randon Hershey Indiana University
2010 Jerry Goldman Northwestern University