Skip to Content
Home » PROGRAMS » APSA Awards » Gabriel A. Almond Award

Gabriel A. Almond Award

The Gabriel A. Almond prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the field of comparative politics. It carries a prize of $750.

The award was created in recognition of Gabriel Almond's contributions to the discipline, profession, and Association. He was a long time faculty member at Stanford University and former APSA President (1966). Almond's scholarly work contributed directly to the development of theory in comparative politics and brought together work on the developing areas and Western Europe that prevented splintering into an array of disparate areas studies.

The deadline for submissions has passed.

List of All Gabriel A. Almond Award Recipients

2018 Award Committee

Chair: Fotini Christia
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
[email protected]

Ernesto Calvo
University of Maryland, College Park
[email protected]

Jane Gingrich
Magdalen College, Oxford
[email protected]

Donate now to Gabriel A. Almond Award Fund


American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up