Skip to Content
Home » PROGRAMS » APSA Awards » William Anderson Award

William Anderson Award

The William Anderson prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the general field of federalism or intergovernmental relations, state and local politics. It carries a prize of $750.

The award was set up in honor of William Anderson, former APSA president, who was a leading American authority in the areas of local government, public administration, intergovernmental relations and the history of political science. He did much to shape teaching and research in these fields not only at his own university, but throughout the country.

The deadline for submissions has passed.

List of All William Anderson Award Recipients

2018 Award Committee
Chair: Jenna Bednar
University of Michigan
[email protected]

Jörg Broschek
Wilfrid Laurier University
[email protected]

Kent Eaton
University of California, Santa Cruz
[email protected]

Donate now to William Anderson Award Fund


American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up