APSA Community College Faculty Award 


Nominations for the 2024 APSA Awards have closed.


The Community College Award recognizes a person or persons who have made exemplary contributions to advance the multi-faceted goals of community college faculty.


The award identifies the contributions of faculty for the advancement of: the creation of innovative curriculum, creative teaching, promoting equity in mentorship, advancing civic and community engagement, participating in institutional shared governance, and/or promoting research.  The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $750.

Nomination Information

  • Eligibility: Self-nominations are accepted. Nominees do not have to be members of APSA, affiliated with an institution in the United States, or an American citizen in order to be considered for an award.

    The award is bestowed upon an outstanding community college faculty member. The institution employing the faculty member is understood to be a community college providing open access to post-secondary education, but the institution in question may grant four-year, as well as two-year, degrees.


APSA Community College Faculty Award Committee

Chair: Julia Wendt
Victor Valley College

Robert Harbaugh
College of Western Idaho

Farhana Loonat
Skagit Community College

Year Recipient Affiliation
2023 Anne Gillman American River College
2022 Tyler G. Olson Cuyahoga Community College
2021 Dr. Cammy Shay Houston Community College
2020 Erin Richards Cascadia College