The Victoria Schuck Award honors the best book published on women and politics. 

The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $750. 

Nominations and self-nominations close at 12:00am EST on Friday, February 14, 2020.  

Individuals: Contact the publisher and ask to have a copy of the nominated book sent to each of the committee members listed below.

Publishers: Send a copy of the nominated book to each of the committee members listed below.  Please submit all information about book nominations through APSA's form prior to sending book copies to the committee so that the Association can track the works that have been nominated.




Victoria Schuck Award Committee

Chair: Caroline Beer
41 Clymer St.
Burlington, VT 05401

Nandini Deo
4/4 Scheherzade Building
Opposite Fariyas Hotel
Apollo Bunder Rd
Colaba Mumbai 
MH 400005

Professor Kate Bedford
Birmingham Law School
University of Birmingham
B15 2TT
United Kingdom

Support for Scholarship

Your donation to the Victoria Schuck Award Fund will help us continue to recognize outstanding scholarship on the subject of women and politics for many years to come.

Donate now to Victoria Schuck Award Fund


About Victoria Schuck
Victoria Schuck earned her PhD in 1937 from Stanford University and played a leading role in opening doors for women in the profession.  She was not only an outstanding mentor for women, but her service in senior administrative roles at Mt Holyoke College and Mount Vernon College opened doors for future generations of women leaders.  
Year Author Title Publisher


Brooke A. Ackerly

Just Responsibility: A Human Rights Theory of Global Justice

Oxford University Press


Kara Ellerby

No Shortcut to Change: An Unlikely Path to a More Gender Equitable World

University of Delaware


J. Kevin Corder and Christina Wolbrecht

Counting Women's Ballots: Female voters from Suffrage to through the New Deal

Cambridge University Press


Sarah Deer

The Beginning and End of Rape: Confronting Sexual Violence in Native America

University of Minnesota Press


Lisa Baldez

Defying Convention: U.S. Resistance to the U.N. Treaty on Women’s Rights

Cambridge University Press


Deborah Jordan Brooks

He Runs, She Runs: Why Gender Stereotypes Do Not Harm Women Candidates

Princeton University Press


Myra Marx Feree

Varieties of Feminism: German Gender Politics in Global Perspective

Stanford University Press


S. Laurel Weldon

When Protest Makes Policy: How Social Movements Represent Disadvantages Groups

University of Michigan Press


Torben Iversen and Frances Rosenbluth

Women, Work & Politics: The Political Economy of Gender Inequality

Yale University Press


Mona Lena Krook

Quotas for Women in Politics: Gender and Candidate Selection Reform Worldwide

Oxford University Press


Kristin Bumiller

In an Abusive State: How Neoliberalism Appropriated the Feminist Movement Against Sexual Violence

Duke University Press


Georgina Waylen

Engendering Transitions: Women’s Mobilization, Institutions,
and Gender Outcomes

Oxford University Press


Anna Marie Smith

Welfare Reform and Sexual Regulation

Cambridge University Press


Kathrin S. Zippel

The Politics of Sexual Harassment: A Comparative Study of the United States, the European Union, and Germany

Cambridge University Press


Shireen Hassim

Women's Organizations and Democracy in South Africa: Contesting Authority

University of Wisconsin Press


Valentine M. Moghadam

Globalizing Women: Transnational Feminist Networks

Johns Hopkins University Press


Saba Mahmood

Politics of Piety: The Islamic Revival and the Feminist Subject

Princeton University Press


Nancy J. Hirschmann

Subject of Liberty: Toward a Feminist Theory of Freedom

Princeton University Press


Louise A. Chappell

Gendering Government: Feminist Engagement with the State in Australia and Canada

University of British Columbia Press