Edward S. Corwin Award

The Edward S. Corwin prize is awarded annually for the best dissertation in the field of public law. It carries a prize of $750.

The Corwin award is for the best doctoral dissertation completed and accepted during that year or the previous year in the field of public law, broadly defined to include the judicial process, judicial behavior, judicial biography, courts, law, legal systems, the American constitutional system, civil liberties, or any other substantial area, or any work which deals in a significant fashion with a topic related to or having substantial impact on the American Constitution.

Edward S. Corwin was a former Association president who is nationally known and widely published. He consulted with many other academics as well as politicians involved with constitutional issues, most notably when he publicly supported Franklin D. Roosevelt's Supreme Court reorganization ("court packing") plan. 

Nominations for the 2020 Corwin Award will close on Friday, February 14, 2020.  Please click here to submit a nomination.

List of All Edward S. Corwin Award Recipients

Donate now to Edward Corwin Award Fund


Edward S. Corwin Award Committee

Chair: Daniel Naurin
Oslo University
[email protected]

Dr. Pamela C. Corley
Southern Methodist University
[email protected]

Dr. Michael J. Nelson
The Pennsylvania State University
[email protected]