Committee on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Individuals in the Profession

The Committee on the Status of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Individuals (LGBT) in the Profession assesses the status of gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender scholars in the profession; advances the research on LGBT issues; develops curriculum materials; and works to ensure tolerance toward LGBT political scientists.

Committee Members

Term expiring August 31, 2021 (after the annual meeting)

  • Zein Murib, Fordham University
  • Cynthia Burack, The Ohio State University

Term expiring August 2022 (after the annual meeting)

  • Heath Fogg Davis, Temple University
  • Edward Kammerer, Idaho State University
  • Erin Mayo-Adam, Hunter College, CUNY

Term expiring August 2023 (after the annual meeting)

  • Claire Adida, University of California, Chair
  • Reuel Rogers, Northwestern University

Letters and Statements

Joint Statement on the 2018 Annual Meeting of the Society for Political Methodology

Projects and Activities

Related Material

Related Organizations and Programs

Previous Panels or Roundtables at the APSA Annual Meeting:

  • 2018 Roundtable: The Trump Administration and the Courts: The Impact on LGBT Rights 
  • 2018 Roundtable: Improving Diversity in Political Methodology
  • 2017 Panel: A Discussion of Notable LGBT Rights Books from 2016
  • 2016 Panel: The Future of Transgender Rights
  • 2014 Panel: Navigating the Academic Seas: Career Strategies for LGBT Scholars
  • 2013 Roundtable: LGBT Rights after Perry and Windsor
  • 2012 Panel: The Politics of Defining "The Family"
  • 2012 Panel: President Obama and LGBT Issues
  • 2011 Roundtable: Transgender Political Science? A Roundtable Discussion on the Whats, Hows, and Whos of the Research