The Robert A. Dahl Award honors an untenured scholar who has produced scholarship of the highest quality on the subject of democracy. 

The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $750. 

Nominations and self-nominations close at 12:00am EST on Friday, February 14, 2020.  

Non-ladder faculty members and junior tenure-track faculty at universities and colleges are eligible for the Dahl Award, as are scholars at nonprofit organizations and think tanks, and independent scholars. Scholarship eligible for the Dahl Award includes books, papers, reports, and articles on the subject of democracy. 

You may submit one item per nomination: one book, one article, one paper.  You will have the opportunity to upload other supporting documents through this form, such as letters of support for a nominee, or a personal statement if you are making a self-nomination.  If you are nominating a book for the Dahl Award, the individual making the nomination is responsible for contacting the publisher and having copies sent to the award committee. 

Robert Dahl Award Committee

Chair: Rachel Riedl
Institute of Advanced Studies
5 allée Jacques Berque
44000 Nantes

Agustina Giraudy
3807 Military Rd NW
Washington, D.C. 20015

Dr. Imke Harbers
University of Amsterdam
Department of Political Science
PO Box 15578
1001 NB Amsterdam
The Netherlands

Eva Sørensen
Roskilde Universitet
Building 25.2
Universitetsvej 1
4000 Roskilde

Support for Scholarship

Your donation to the Dahl Award Fund will help us continue to recognize outstanding scholarship on the subject of democracy for many years to come.

Donate now to Robert Dahl Award


2019: Alexander Hertel-Fernandez, Politics at Work: How Companies Turn Their Workers into Lobbyists

2018: Paul D. Kenny, Populism and Patronage: Why Populists Win Elections in India, Asia, and Beyond

2017: Candelaria Garay, Social Policy Expansion in Latin American

2016: Lee Drutman, New America The Business of America is Lobbying: How Corporations Became Politicized and Politics Became More Corporate (Oxford University Press)