The Carey McWilliams Award honors a major journalistic contribution to our understanding of politics. 

The award is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting and carries a cash prize of $750.  

Nominations and self-nominations close at 12:00am EST on Friday, February 14, 2020.  

Eligible candidates:

  • should have a distinguished public service career in newspaper, magazine, or broadcast media;
  • should, in his or her work, illumine some broad general principles of the social and political sciences;
  • may have a background in editorial activities and not necessarily be a working journalist or writer, and
  • should illumine certain key elements identified with McWilliams, which include intellectual forthrightness and political independence.



Carey McWilliams Award Committee

Chair: Professor Holli A. Semetko
Emory University
[email protected]

Markus Prior
Princeton University
[email protected]

Dr. Tracy Sulkin
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
[email protected]

Support for Scholarship

Your donation to the McWilliams Award Fund will help us continue to recognize outstanding journalistic contributions to our understanding of politics for many years to come.

Donate now to Carey McWilliams Award Fund


Year Recipient Affiliation
2019 Ariel Edwards-Levy The Huffington Post
2018 Craig Silverman BuzzFeed News
2017 Jake Tapper CNN
2016 Alan Rusbridger The Guardian/ Oxford University
2015 No award given
2014 Charlayne Hunter-Gault Author and Journalist
2013 Ezra Klein The Washington Post
2012 Dana Priest The Washington Post
2011 Robert Fisk The Independent
2010 Charles E. Cook Jr. Cook Political Report
2009 Fareed Zakaria Newsweek International
2008 National Public Radio
2007 Ronald Brownstein Los Angeles Times, Washington Bureau
2006 Mark Danner University of California, Berkeley
2005 Seymour Hersh The New Yorker
2004 Bill Moyers Public Affairs Television
2003 Adam Clymer (Co-recipient) The New York Times
2003 Thomas Friedman (Co-recipient) The New York Times
2002 Linda Greenhouse (Co-recipient) The New York Times
2002 Janet Hook (Co-recipient) Los Angeles Times
2001 Victor Navasky (Co-recipient) The Nation Magazine
2001 William Kristol (Co-recipient) The Weekly Standard Magazine
2000 Allen Ehrenhalt Governing Magazine
1999 Dan Balz The Washington Post
1998 Richard Reeves University of Southern California
1997 Anthony Lewis The New York Times
1996 E.J. Dionne The Washington Post
1995 Brian Lamb C-SPAN
1994 Thomas Bryne Edsell The Washington Post
1993 Nina Totenberg National Public Radio
1992 Michael Barone U.S. News and World Report
1991 Molly Ivins Dallas Times-Herald
1990 National Journal
1989 Lesley Stahl CBS News
1988 Jeffrey H. Burnbaum and Alan S. Murray The Wall Street Journal
1987 Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
1986 Neal R. Peirce Washingotn Post Writers Group
1985 Jim Lehrer and Robert MacNeil MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour
1984 Murray Kempton Newsday
1983 David S. Broder The Washington Post
1982 Richard Strout Christian Science Monitor