Sexuality and Politics (Section 38)

The objective of the Sexuality and Politics Section is to bring together scholars working in a variety of areas within political science to facilitate the sharing of knowledge and to foster intellectual community and expertise within the APSA.

Founded: 2007
Yearly membership dues: $0.00 for students and $10.00 for other members.
Public Discussion List: APSA Connect discussion

Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Patrick Egan
New York University

Jo Wuest
University of Pennsylvania

Erin Mayo-Adam
Hunter College, CUNY

2019 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Courtenay Daum
Colorado State University
[email protected]

Term: 09/2017-08/2019
R.G. Cravens, Bowling Green State University

Term: 9/2018-8/2020
Megan Osterbur, New England College

Tiffany Willoughby-Herard, UC Irvine

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 38. Sexuality and Politics awards to-date »

Cynthia Weber Best Conference Paper Award

The Best Conference Paper Award recognizes the best paper exploring sexuality and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.

Deadline for nominations: June 15, 2019

Award Committee:

Iñaki Sagarzazu
Texas Tech University
[email protected]

Anna L. Weissman
University of Florida
[email protected]

Zein Murib
Fordham University
[email protected]

Kenneth Sherrill Best Dissertation Award

The Best Dissertation Award recognizes the best dissertation on sexuality and politics completed and successfully defended in the previous two calendar years. The award is open to all scholarship that falls under the broad rubric of sexuality and politics, including studies concerning the regulation of sexuality, political responses to the regulation of sexuality, the uses of sexuality as a political construct, the intersections of sexuality with gender, race, and class, or LGBT politics and mobilizations.

Deadline for nominations: June 15, 2019

Award Committee:
Megan Osterbur
New England College
[email protected]

Edward Kammerer
Skidmore College
[email protected]

Ravi K. Perry
Virginia Commonwealth University
[email protected]

Donate to Section 38

Donate now to S38 Sexuality and Politics Contribution