Skip to Content

Donate to Section 30

Donate now to S30 Politics, Literature, and Film Contribution



Politics, Literature, and Film (Section 30)

The study of literature and film offers political scientists a particularly stimulating mode of inquiry into political institutions and principles, and into the ways of life that sustain them and are, in turn, shaped by them. Indeed, the creation of this division is itself a sign of the complex and changing landscape of the study of politics. The Section explores the way in which literature--broadly understood to include film and other literary genres--provides unique insights into the nature of political life and the study of politics.

Founded: 1993
Yearly membership dues: $0.00 for students and $5.00 for other members.
Facebook Page: Politics, Literature, and Film Facebook Group
Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

David Panagia
University of California, Los Angeles
[email protected]

Chair Elect
Linda Beail
Point Loma Nazarene University
[email protected]

Jay Douglas Steinmetz
Willamette University
[email protected]

2018 Annual Meeting Program Chair
David Panagia
University of California, Los Angeles
[email protected]

At Large Executive Council Members
Lilly Goren
Carroll University

Lee Trepanier
Saginaw State University

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 30. Politics, Literature, and Film awards to-date »

Pamela Jensen Book Award

The Pamela Jensen Book Award is for books that publish research in the areas of politics, literature, and film.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Deadline: January 2018

Award Committee:

Ira Allen
Northern Arizona University
[email protected]

Libby Barringer
Bard College
[email protected]

Lilly Goren
Carroll College
[email protected]

Wilson Carey McWilliams Best Paper Award
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up