2017 Teaching & Learning Conference

APSA Teaching and Learning Conference Banner

Thank you to everyone who participated in the Teaching & Learning Conference! Papers are available to conference attendees in the APSA Connect community.  Information on the 2018 conference will be available soon.

View the Online Program

View the full online program that includes the 2017 daily schedule, track and workshop details, exhibitor/sponsor events, and more!

Conference Format & Track Themes

View the 2017 Teaching & Learning track themes. Every attendee selects a track in which to participate for the duration of the conference. The conference uses a working group model so that all attendees in each track will serve as, and be listed as, discussants for that track's presentations.


Michael Brintnall Teaching & Learning Award: Supports attendance at the conference. The award may include conference registration fees and a one-year complimentary APSA membership. Contingent faculty, non-tenure track faculty, and faculty whose departments do not provide travel support are particularly encouraged to apply.

Learn more about the winners of the Michael Brintnall Award

CQ Press Award for Teaching Innovation: Recognizes a political scientist who has developed an effective new approach to teaching in the discipline. The award seeks to honor a wide range of new directions in teaching.

Congratulations to Dr. Brooke Thomas Allen, winner of the 2017 CQ Press Award! 

Exhibits & Sponsorships

See the 2017 Exhibitors & Sponsors »

Teaching & Learning Conference Program Committee

The program committee for the Conference on Teaching and Learning in Political Science sets the themes for the meeting and oversees the formation of the conference tracks:

  • Sara Moats, Florida International University, Chair
  • Kevin Anderson, Eastern Illinois University
  • Amber Dickinson, Oklahoma State University
  • Benjamin Gonzalez, Highline College
  • Elizabeth Matto, Rutgers University
  • Chad Raymond, Salve Regina University
  • Boris Ricks, California State University, Northridge