African Politics Conference Group (Section 44)

The purpose of this section is to promote recognition within professional associations of the theoretical and methodological contributions to the discipline of political scientists whose research and professional interests center largely or in part upon sub-Saharan Africa.

Founded: 2013
Website: http://connect.apsanet.org/s44
Newsletter: APCG Newsletter

Section Counts


Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $10


Section Officers
Chair Lise Rakner, University of Bergen, Norway
Vice-Chair George Bob-Milliar, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology
Secretary Natalie Letsa, University of Oklahoma
Treasurer Ken Opalo, Georgetown University
Newsletter Editor Keith Weghorst, Vanderbilt University
2021 Annual Meeting
Division Chairs
Alice Kang, University of Nebraska, Lincoln
[email protected]
Josef Woldense, University of Minnesota
[email protected]



Donate now to S44 African Politics Conference Group Contribution


Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 44. African Politics Conference Group awards to-date »


APCG Best Dissertation Award

The APCG-Lynne Rienner Best Dissertation Award Committee invites submissions for the best dissertation in African politics 2020. The award carries a prize and recognizes outstanding scholarship in African politics. Multiple dissertations may be nominated per department. Dissertations that were completed and accepted in the 2020 calendar year are eligible for this award. Deadline for nominations: May 3, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email

APCG Ralph Bunche Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The APCG Ralphe Bunche Best Graduate Student Paper Award Committee seeks nominations for the 2020 award. The award carries a cash prize and is intended to recognize outstanding scholarship in African politics. Eligible papers must be nominated by a member of the APCG (self-nominations are allowed), written by a graduate student, and presented at any professional conference in 2020, regardless of sponsorship or location, at which the paper is presented by the author and/or discussed by another colleague in the profession. This includes papers presented through the APCG online colloquium. The papers cannot have a co-author with a Ph.D. Deadline for nominations: May 3, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email