International History and Politics (Section 34)

The purpose of this section is to promote the study of international history and politics, to disseminate research results; to encourage interdisciplinary conversations between political scientists and historians, and to advance the development, dissemination, integration, and application of qualitative and historiographical methodologies.

Founded: 1999
Yearly membership dues:$0.00 for students and $10.00 for other members.
Website: connect.apsanet.org/s34

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Cecelia Lynch
University of California, Irvine

Vice Chair
Stacie Goddard
Wellesley College

Andrew Yeo
Catholic University

2020 Annual Meeting Program Chair
Jonathan Agensky
Ohio University
[email protected]

Newsletter Editor
International History and Politics Newsletter
John Emery
University of California, Irvine
[email protected]

Term: 09/2018-08/2020
Narendra Subramanian, McGill University
Joseph M. Parent, University of Notre Dame
Philip J. Howe, Adrian College

Term: 09/2029-8/2021
Adria Lawrence, Johns Hopkins University
Nina Tannenwald, Brown University
Paul McDonald, Wellesley College

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 34. International History and Politics awards to-date »

Robert L. Jervis and Paul W. Schroeder Best Book Award

The Robert L. Jervis and Paul Schroeder Best Book Award for the best book on International History and Politics. This award may be granted to a single-authored or multi-authored book, or to an edited volume. The award will be given to works published in the calendar year prior to the year of the APSA meeting at which the award is presented. The copyright date of a book will establish the relevant year. Hence, books with a 2019 copyright date will be eligible for the award presented at the 2020 APSA meeting. To be considered for the award, nominations must be received by February 28, 2020. 

Nomination Instructions: Nominations for the Jervis-Schroeder Book award (including three copies of cover letters and books) should be sent directly to the Award Committee Members. Please ask publishers to send books in hard copy and as PDFs.

Deadline for nominations: February 28, 2020

Award Committee:
Martin O. Heisler, University of Maryland
[email protected]

10 Morningview Circle
Lake Oswego, OR 97035-8840

Arjun Chowdhury, University of British Columbia
[email protected]

Buchanan 425
1866 Main Mall
V6T 1Z1

Kathryn Lavelle, Case Western Reserve University
[email protected]

17360 Old Tannery Trail
Chagrin Falls, Ohio 44023

Outstanding Article Award in International History and Politics

The Outstanding Article Award in International History and Politics recognizes exceptional peer-reviewed journal articles representing the mission of the International History and Politics Section of the American Political Science Association, including innovative work that brings new light to events and processes in international politics, encourages interdisciplinary conversations between political scientists and historians, and advances historiographical methods. The Outstanding Article Award is given to a published article that appeared in print in the calendar year preceding the APSA meeting at which the award is presented. It may be granted to an article that is single- or co-authored. The year of final journal publication, as detailed by print citation, establishes eligibility.

Nomination Instructions: Nominations including a brief description of the significance of the article and a digital copy of the article should be sent to each member of the committee before the annual deadline, which is January 31, 2020.

Deadline for nominations: January 31, 2020

Award Committee:
Helen Kinsella, University of Minnesota
[email protected]

Christopher Darnton, Naval Postgraduate School
[email protected]

Jordan Branch, Brown University
[email protected]

Donate to Section 34

Donate now to S34 International History and Politics Contribution