Foreign Policy (Section 31)

The Section on Foreign Policy is the organization for those interested in multilevel approaches to the study of international relations. The Section emphasizes individual, role, organizational, bureaucratic, societal, and/or state as well as situational and system level variables in foreign policy analyses. Members of the Section employ a wide range of approaches, including historical, normative, rational, behavioral, liberal, institutional, psychological, and constructivist. Section members emphasize comparative as well as American studies of foreign policy. And the Section recognizes the contributions of practitioners as well as academics in a broad range of professions and disciplines, e.g., communications, economics, diplomacy, government, history, political science, public opinion polling, philosophy, psychology, and sociology.

Founded: 1993
Yearly membership dues: $10.00 for students and $10 for all other members

Section Counts

Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$10 $10
Section Officers

Section Officers

Donate to Section 31

Donate now to S31 Foreign Policy Contribution


Foreign Policy (Section 31)

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 31. Foreign Policy awards to-date »

Foreign Policy Section Book Award Procedures


The Foreign Policy Section Graduate Student Travel Grant

This competitive grant is designed to support the travel costs of a graduate student who currently studies in an academic institution to attend the 2022 APSA Annual Meeting in person from outside of Montreal. The recipient must be a member of the APSA FP section at the time of the Annual Meeting and have a paper accepted for the Annual Meeting on a FP-sponsored panel. The grant recipient will receive a $500 cash reimbursement for travel, accommodation, and/or fees directly accrued from their in-person attendance at the convention. The reimbursement will be paid directly to the awardee in person at the APSA Annual Meeting. The grant committee is comprised of members of the FP section board. The grant committee reserves the right not to award a grant if it is decided that no submitted applications are eligible for or deserving of the funds. Graduate students from underrepresented backgrounds who fit these criteria are strongly encouraged to apply.

To apply, candidates must submit (1) motivation letter (max. 250 words), (2) abstract of the accepted paper, (3) evidence of annual convention acceptance (including panel sponsor information). The motivation letter should discuss how attendance at APSA benefits the applicant’s research and career objectives. Examples include plans to network, attend other panels and events, receive feedback on own presentation, etc.. Make sure to include your full name and APSA ID number.  Submissions with an explanation of more than 250 words or missing any of these documents will not be considered. All application materials should be sent via email to Foreign Policy section committee members Prof. Danielle Lupton ([email protected]) and Prof. Dov Levin ([email protected]). Deadline: June 15, 2022 The section will notify the recipient if they were awarded this grant by the end of July. 

Best Paper Award

This award recognizes the best paper presented on a panel organized by the Foreign Policy Section at the 2021 APSA Annual Meeting

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Tom Dolan University of Central Florida [email protected]
Jacqueline Hazelton   [email protected]  
Emily Holland  Naval War College [email protected]

Best Graduate Student Paper Award

This award recognizes the best graduate student paper presented on a panel organized by the Foreign Policy Section at the 2021 APSA Annual Meeting.

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Chad Nelson Brigham Young University chadnelson.byu.edu
Danielle Lupton Colgate University [email protected] 
Charmaine Willis University at Albany, SUNY [email protected] 
Kelsey Larson University of Central Florida [email protected]

Best Book Award

In recognition of outstanding scholarly monographs related to foreign policy, broadly conceptualized. All methodologies and approaches to the subject are welcome. 

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Anthony C. Lopez Washington State Univ. [email protected]
Dov Levin  University of Hong Kong [email protected]
Christine Sixta Rinehart University of South Carolina [email protected] 
William Bendix  Dakota State University [email protected]