Skip to Content

Carey McWilliams Award Recipients

Year     Recipient
2018     Craig Silverman
2017    Jake Tapper, CNN
2016    Alan Rusbridger, The Guardian / Oxford University
2015    No award given
2014    Charlayne Hunter-Gault, Author and Journalist
2013    Ezra Klein, The Washington Post
2012    Dana Priest, The Washington Post
2011    Robert Fisk, The Independent
2010    Andrew Kohut, Pew Research Center
2010    Charles E. Cook, Jr., Cook Political Report
2009    Fareed Zakaria, Newsweek International
2008    National Public Radio
2007    Ronald Brownstein, Los AngelesTimes, Washington Bureau
2006    Mark Danner, University of California, Berkeley
2005    Seymour Hersh, The New Yorker
2004    Bill Moyers, Public Affairs Television
2003    Adam Clymer, The New York Times (Co-recipient)
            Thomas Friedman, The New York Times (Co-recipient)
2002    Linda Greenhouse, The New York Times (Co-recipient)
            Janet Hook, Los Angeles Times (Co-recipient)
2001    Victor Navasky, The Nation Magazine (Co-recipient)
            William Kristol, The Weekly Standard Magazine (Co-recipient)
2000    Alan Ehrenhalt, Governing Magazine
1999    Dan Balz, The Washington Post
1998    Richard Reeves, University of Southern California
1997    Anthony Lewis, The New York Times
1996    E.J. Dionne, The Washington Post
1995    Brian Lamb, C-SPAN
1994    Thomas Bryne Edsell, The Washington Post
1993    Nina Totenberg, National Public Radio
1992    Michael Barone, U.S.News and World Report
1991    Molly Ivins, Dallas Times-Herald
1990    National Journal
1989    Lesley Stahl, CBS News
1988    Jeffrey H. Birnbaum andAlan S. Murray, The Wall Street Journal
1987    Congressional Quarterly Weekly Report
1986    Neal R. Peirce, Washington Post Writers Group
1985    Jim Lehrer and Robert MacNeil, MacNeil/Lehrer Newshour
1984    Murray Kempton, Newsday
1983    David S. Broder, The Washington Post
1982    Richard Strout, Christian Science Monitor
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up