APSA Council Committees

  • Executive Committee The Executive Committee consists of the President, President-elect, Past President,Treasurer and chairs of the five policy committees. Its main duties include preparing agendas for council meetings and annual business meetings and acting on behalf of the council to dispose of policy issues deemed of insufficient weight to require decisions by the council.  

Term expiring August 31, 2019
Rogers Smith, University of Pennsylvania
Paula McClain, Duke University

Kathleen Thelen, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Thomas Pepinsky, Cornell University
Omar Encarnacion, Bard College
Juliet Hooker, Brown University
Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, Purdue University
Renee Van Vechten, University of Redlands
Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame

  • Conference and Meetings Policy Committee The Conferences and Meetings Committee will address issues including policies on the siting of APSA meetings and on the structure and format of APSA meetings. 

Term expiring August 31, 2019
Juliet Hooker, Brown University, Chair
Simon Jackman, University of Sydney
Matthew Kocher, Johns Hopkins University
Lori Marso, Union College
Lisa L. Martin, University of Wisconsin, Madison

  • Membership and Professional Development Policy Committee The Membership and Professional Development Committee will address issues including the Association’s membership structure and dues, policies with wide effect on the membership, and programming and initiatives for APSA to undertake in promotion of members’ professional development.
    Term expiring August 31, 2019
    Omar Encarnacion, Bard College, Chair
    Colleen Shogan, Library of Congress
    Laura Sjoberg, University of Florida
    Ann O'M. Bowman, Texas A&M University
    Dvora Yanow, Wageningen University
    Lisa Wedeen, University of Chicago

  • Publications Policy Committee The Publications Committee will address issues related to APSA publications, including journals, reports, and ebooks, and provide guidance on proposals for new APSA publications.
    Term expiring August 31, 2019
    Christina Wolbrecht, University of Notre Dame, Chair
    Joseph Carens, University of Toronto
    Lisa Garcia-Bedolla, University of California, Berkeley
    Kristian Gleditsch, University of Essex
    Adam Berinsky, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • Public Engagement Policy Committee The Public Engagement Committee will provide guidance on APSA programs and activities connected to amplifying the public reach of political science and, in particular, incorporating initiatives from the 2013-14 John Aldrich Task Force on improving public perceptions of political science’s value.
    Term expiring August 31, 2019
    Valeria Sinclair-Chapman, Purdue University, Chair
    Matt Barreto, University of California, Los Angeles
    Lilly J. Goren, Carroll University
    Cathy Cohen, University of Chicago
    Alberto Simper, Instituto Tecnológico Autónomo de México

  • Teaching and Learning Policy Committee The Teaching and Learning Committee will provide guidance in the coordination of teaching-related initiatives across the Association, including future directions for the Teaching and Learning Conference (currently under review) and programs and publications connected to teaching and learning.
    Term expiring August 31, 2019
    Renee Van Vechten, University of Redlands, Chair
    Mark Crescenzi, University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
    Julia Jordan-Zachery, Providence College
    Erin Richards, Cascadia College
    Charles “Tony” Smith, University of California, Irvine
    Rocio Titiunik, University of Michigan