About APSA
APSA Presidents: 1903 to Present

Click on the names below for a .pdf file of each presidential address. (Some of the .pdfs may be large and will take time to load.)

More recent addresses are linked here when they are published in Perspectives on Politics (usually in the edition published the March after the Annual Meeting).

 President  University/Affiliation  Dates
 John Aldrich  Duke University   2013-present
 Jane Mansbridge   Harvard University   2012-2013
 G. Bingham Powell, Jr.  University of Rochester  2011-2012
 Carole Pateman  University of California, Los Angeles  2010-2011
 Henry Brady  University of California, Berkeley  2009-2010
 Peter Katzenstein  Cornell University  2008-2009
 Dianne Pinderhughes  University of Notre Dame  2007-2008
 Robert Axelrod  University of Michigan  2006-2007
 Ira Katznelson  Columbia University  2005-2006
 Margaret Levi  University of Washington - Seattle  2004-2005
 Susanne Hoeber Rudolph  University of Chicago  2003-2004
 Theda Skocpol  Harvard University  2002-2003
 Robert D. Putnam  Harvard University  2001-2002
 Robert Jervis  Columbia University  2000-2001
 Robert O. Keohane  Duke University  1999-2000
 Matthew Holden Jr.  Isaiah T. Montgomery Studies Project, Inc.  1998-1999
 M. Kent Jennings  University of California - Santa Barbara  1997-1998
 Elinor Ostrom  Indiana University  1996-1997
 Arend Lijphart  University of California - San Diego  1995-1996
 Sidney Verba  Harvard University  1994-1995
 Charles O. Jones  University of Wisconsin  1993-1994
 Lucius J. Barker  Stanford University  1992-1993
 James Q. Wilson  UCLA  1991-1992
 Theodore J. Lowi  Cornell University  1990-1991
 Judith N. Shklar  Harvard University  1989-1990
 Lucian W. Pye  MIT  1988-1989
 Kenneth N. Waltz  University of California - Berkeley  1987-1988
 Samuel P. Huntington  Harvard University  1986-1987
 Aaron B. Wildavsky  University of California - Berkeley  1985-1986
 Richard F. Fenno  University of Rochester  1984-1985
 Philip E. Converse  University of Michigan  1983-1984
 William H. Riker  University of Rochester  1982-1983
 Seymour Martin Lipset  Stanford University  1981-1982
 Charles E. Lindblom  Yale University  1980-1981
 Warren E. Miller  University of Michigan  1979-1980
 Leon D. Epstein  University of Wisconsin - Madison  1978-1979
 John C. Wahlke  University of Iowa  1977-1978
 Samuel H. Beer  Harvard University  1976-1977
 James MacGregor Burns  Williams College  1975-1976
 Austin Ranney  University of Wisconsin  1974-1975
 Avery Leiserson  Vanderbilt University  1973-1974
 Robert E. Ward  University of Michigan  1972-1973
 Heinz Eulau  Stanford University  1971-1972
 Robert E. Lane  Yale University  1970-1971
 Karl W. Deutsch  Harvard University  1969-1970
 David Easton  University of Chicago  1968-1969
 Merle Fainsod  Harvard University  1967-1968
 Robert A. Dahl  Yale University  1966-1967
 Gabriel A. Almond  Stanford University  1965-1966
 David B. Truman  Columbia University  1964-1965
 C. Herman Pritchett  University of Chicago  1963-1964
 Carl J. Friedrich  Harvard University  1962-1963
 Charles S. Hyneman  Indiana University  1961-1962
 Emmette S. Redford  University of Texas  1960-1961
 Carl B. Swisher  Johns Hopkins University  1959-1960
 R. Taylor Cole  Duke University  1958-1959
 V.O. Key, Jr.,  Harvard University  1957-1958
 E.E. Schattschneider  Wesleyan University  1956-1957
 Harold D. Lasswell  Yale University  1955-1956
 Charles McKinley  Reed College  1954-1955
 Ralph J. Bunche  United Nations  1953-1954
 Pendleton Herring  Social Science Research Council  1952-1953
 Luther Gulick  National Institute of Public Administration  1951-1952
 Peter H. Odegard  University of California - Berkeley  1950-1951
 James K. Pollock  University of Michigan  1949-1950
 Quincy Wright  University of Chicago  1948-1949
 Henry R. Spencer  Ohio State University  1947-1948
 Arthur W. MacMahon  Columbia University  1946-1947
 Walter F. Dodd  Chicago  1945-1946
 John Gaus  University of Wisconsin  1944-1945
 Leonard D. White  University of Chicago  1943-1944
 Robert E. Cushman  Cornell University  1942-1943
 William Anderson  University of Minnesota  1941-1942
 Frederic A. Ogg  University of Wisconsin  1940-1941
 Robert C. Brooks  Swarthmore College  1939-1940
 Charles Grove Haines  UCLA  1938-1939
 Clarence A. Dykstra  University of Wisconsin  1937-1938
 Thomas Reed Powell  Harvard University  1936-1937
 Arthur N. Holcombe  Harvard University  1935-1936
 Francis W. Coker  Yale University  1934-1935
 Walter J. Shepard  Ohio State University  1933-1934
 Isidor Loeb  Washington University  1932-1933
 William F. Willoughby  Brookings Insititution  1931-1932
 Edward S. Corwin  Princeton University  1930-1931
 Benjamin F. Shambaugh  University of Iowa  1929-1930
 John A. Fairlie  University of Illinois  1928-1929
 Jesse S. Reeves  University of Michigan  1927-1928
 William Bennett Munro  Harvard University  1926-1927
 Charles A. Beard  Training School Public Service  1925-1926
 Charles E. Merriam  University of Chicago  1924-1925
 James W. Garner  University of Illinois  1923-1924
 Harry A. Garfield  Williams College  1922-1923
 William A. Dunning  Columbia University  1921-1922
 Leo S. Rowe  Director-Gen. Pan Am American Union  1920-1921
 Paul S. Reinsch  U.S. minister to China  1919-1920
 Henry Jones Ford  Princeton University  1918-1919
 Munroe Smith  Columbia University  1916-1918
 Jesse Macy  Grinnell College  1915-1916
 Ernst Freund  University of Chicago  1914-1915
 John Bassett Moore  Columbia University  1913-1914
 W.W. Willoughby  Johns Hopkins University  1912-1913
 Albert Bushnell Hart  Harvard University  1911-1912
 Simeon E. Baldwin  Yale University  1910-1911
 Woodrow Wilson  Princeton University  1909-1910
 A. Lawrence Lowell  Harvard University  1908-1909
 James Bryce  British ambassador to U.S.  1907-1908
 Frederick N. Judson  St. Louis  1906-1907
 Albert Shaw  New York City  1905-1906
 Frank J. Goodnow  Columbia University  1903-1905

minus-active minus-hover minus plus-active plus-hover plus