Skip to Content

The Minority Fellowship Program

The Minority Fellows Program (MFP) is a fellowship competition for individuals from underrepresented backgrounds applying to or in the early stages of doctoral programs in political science. The MFP was established in 1969 (originally as the Black Graduate Fellowship) to increase the number of minority scholars in the discipline.

2016 Minority Fellowship Program Travel Grant Application 

The APSA Minority Fellowship Program (MFP) Travel Grant provides support for the professional development of APSA Minority Fellows and Alumni of the program to attend the APSA Annual Meeting. Applications are due on July 1, 2016. Review eligibility requirements and application here.

2016-2017 APSA Minority Fellowship Program Bios

(Fellows are listed with their undergraduate home institutions)

  • Estefania Castaneda Perez, San Diego State University (Class of 2014)
  • Alejandra Gimenez, Brigham Young University (Class of 2016)
  • Kenisha Gransberry, Lincoln University (Class of 2016)
  • Jesse Lopez, UC Berkeley (Class of 2016)
  • Donna York, Georgia Southern University (Class of 2013)

2015-2016 APSA Minority Fellowship Program Bios

The 2015-2016 APSA MFP Fellows are listed with their BA institutions (or former MA institution if applicable) and their new graduate institution:

Full biographies of the 2015-2016 APSA Minority Fellows were featured in the July 2015 edition of the PS Journal

2015 APSA Minority Fellowship Program Travel Grant Recipients

In 2015, APSA awarded 10 alumni of the Minority Fellowship Program with a Travel Grant to assist in funding for the APSA Annual Meeting. The award winners are listed below with their current institutional affiliation and MFP fellowship year(s):

  • Elias Assaf, Ohio State University, 2014
  • LaShonda Brenson, University of Michigan, 2010
  • Shakari Byerly, UCLA, 2013
  • Nyron Crawford, Temple University, 2008
  • LaGina Gause, University of Michigan, 2010
  • Muhammed Idris, Harvard University, 2011
  • Vanessa Nichols, University of Michigan, 2009, 2010
  • Patricia Posey, Harvard University, 2013
  • Soledad Prillaman, Harvard University, 2011
  • Camillia Redding, Columbia University, 2010
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up