Skip to Content

Committee on the Status of First Generation Scholars in the Profession

On September 2, 2015, the APSA Council approved a new standing Committee on First-Generation Higher Education Scholars in the Profession, parallel to the existing APSA status committees. The goal and mission of this committee is to bring focused attention to the ways that class, economic inequality, and mobility can affect political scientists’ ability to thrive educationally and professionally throughout their careers.

Committee Members

Term expiring August 31, 2019

  • Ricardo Ramirez, University of Notre Dame
  • Tom Wong, University of California, San Diego

Term expiring August 31, 2018

  • Lorrie Frasure-Yokley, University of California, Los Angeles, Chair
  • Els De Graauw, CUNY-Baruch
  • Pei-te Lien, University of California, Santa Barbara

Term expiring August 31, 2017

  • Virginia Gray, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
  • Jessica Lavariega-Monforti, Pace University

Please contact [email protected] for more info.

Previous Panels or Roundtables at the APSA Annual Meeting:

  • 2016 Roundtable: First Generation Scholars in the Profession Roundtable Discussion
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up