Skip to Content
Home » PROGRAMS » APSA Awards » Frank J. Goodnow Award

Frank J. Goodnow Award

The Frank Johnson Goodnow Award was established by the APSA Council in 1996 to honor service to the community of teachers, researchers, and public servants who work in the many fields of politics. Frank J. Goodnow, the first president of the American Political Science Association, a pioneer in the development of judicial politics, and former president of Johns Hopkins University, is an exemplar of the public service and volunteerism that this award represents.

Nominating Information
Each year the Association solicits nominations from members of the Council, former winners, and APSA members. Nominations are then considered by the Goodnow Committee. One or more recipients may be selected, and in some years no recipients may be named. Recipients are approved by the APSA Administrative Committee.

Submit nominations here by Monday, February 13, 2017. 

List of all Goodnow Award Recipients

2017 Frank J. Goodnow Award Committee
Chair: Priscilla Regan
George Mason University
[email protected]

Kyle Beardsley
Duke University
[email protected]

Jeff Frieden
Harvard University
[email protected]

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up