Political Organizations and Parties (Section 5)

The organized section on Political Organizations and Parties (POP) works to further scholarship on American political parties, comparative political parties, interest groups, and social movements. We do this in a number of different ways. Through our meetings, workshops, newsletter, and website, we provide a means of interaction and communication for like-minded scholars. At our annual workshop at the American Political Science Association conference, we work to train scholars in the use of various methods or databases, or to promote new research in a particular area. Our participation as one of the oldest organized sections of the American Political Science Association allows us to be a voice for our members’ interests within APSA. We also organize the panels in our subfields for the annual APSA conference. Finally, we recognize excellence in scholarship with our awards for best book, best article, best APSA paper, career achievement, emerging scholar, and graduate student research. We are governed by the volunteer efforts of our officers and executive council. We are eager to reach out in new directions. So, let us hear your ideas!


Section Membership Dues


Student Regular
$0 $10

Founded: 1983
Website: connect.apsanet.org/s5
Twitter: @APSA_POP
Section Counts

Section Officers

Section Officers

Section Journal

Interest Groups and Advocacy


Publishes 4 times per year.

Donate to Section 5

Donate now to S05 Political Organizations and Parties Contribution


Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 05. Political Organizations and Parties awards to-date »

Emerging Scholar Award

Given to a scholar early in their career who has not yet received tenure and whose career to date demonstrates unusual promise. Deadline for nominations: Nomination Deadline: March 31, 2023

Award Committe

Name Affiliation Email
Zeynep Somer-Topcu (Chair) University of Texas at Austin zsomer@utexas.edu
David Kimball University of Missouri, St. Louis dkimball@umsl.edu
Paul Djupe Denison University djupe@denison.edu

Jack Walker Article Award

Recognizes an article published in the last two calendar years that makes an outstanding contribution to research and scholarship on political organizations and parties. Deadline for nominations: March 31, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Bonnie Meguid  (Chair) University of Rochester


Ashley English University of North Texas Ashley.English@unt.edu
Daniel Tavana Pennsylvania State University tavana@psu.edu

Leon Epstein Outstanding Book Award

Recognizes a book published in the last two calendar years that makes an outstanding contribution to research and scholarship on political organizations and parties.
Nomination Instructions: To nominate a book, please email the committee chair for a list of committee members’ addresses and send a copy of the book to each committee member. Deadline for nominations: February 28, 2023


Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Geoffrey Lorenz (chair) University of Nebraska – Lincoln gmlorenz@unl.edu
Herschel Thomas West Virginia University herschel.thomas@mail.wvu.edu
Caitlin Andrews-Lee Ryerson University (Toronto) caitlinandrewslee@ryerson.ca

POP Best APSA Paper Award

The POP/Party Politics Award recognizes the best paper delivered on a Political Organizations and Parties-sponsored panel at the preceding APSA annual meeting. 

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Matthew Lacombe  (Chair) Case Western Reserve University matthewjlacombe@gmail.com
Diana Dwyre California State University, Chico ddwyre@csuchico.edu
Niloufer Siddiqui State University of New York-Albany nasiddiqui@albany.edu



The Virginia Gray Graduate Research Award

Awarded to graduate student POP members who are presenting their research on political organizations and/or parties on a POP or non-POP sponsored panel at the upcoming APSA annual meeting.  Applicants who identify as a member of an underrepresented group in the profession are encouraged to apply. Deadline: TBA

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Marie Hojnacki  (Chair) Pennsylvania State University marieh@psu.edu
Brian Brox Tulane University bbrox@tulane.edu
Devin Fernandes California State University, Chico devinfernandes@yahoo.com

Samuel Eldersveld Career Achievement Award

Recognizes a scholar whose lifetime professional work has made an outstanding contribution to the field. Deadline for nominations: March 31, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Robert Boatright (Chair) Clark University RBoatright@clarku.edu
Jennifer Jensen Leigh University jjensen@leigh.edu
John Green University of Akron green@uakron.edu