Experimental Research (Section 42)

The Experimental Research organized section of the American Political Science Association advances pedagogy, research, and scholarly contributions based on randomized or natural experiments. Recent years have seen a dramatic increase in the number of published articles in political science that use experiments. Experimentalists are exploring topics that would have been unimaginable only a few years ago.

The rapid growth, development, and celebration of experimental methods in political science presents the opportunity to share a specific vocabulary and toolkit with researchers interested in experimental methods of all kinds. The section is devoted to helping scholars develop and hone these specialized skills and to providing a forum where research based in these techniques can be shared and discussed.

Founded: 2010
Yearly membership dues: Print access to the Journal of Experimental Political Science costs $24. Online access is free for graduate students; print access for students is $18.
Journal: Journal of Experimental Political Science; published 2 times per year; discount for selecting online-only access.
Website: https://connect.apsanet.org/s42/
Newsletter: The Experimental Political Scientist

Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Rebecca Morton
New York University

Chair Elect
Thad Dunning
University of California, Berkeley


David Nickerson
Temple University

Journal Editor
Kevin Arceneaux
Temple University
[email protected]

2019 Annual Meeting Program Chairs
Dan Butler
[email protected]

Brigitte Seim
U of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
[email protected]

Dustin Tingley, Harvard

Adam Berinsky, MIT

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 42. Experimental Research awards to-date »

Best Book Award

The Best Book Award recognizes the best book published in 2018 that either uses or is about experimental research methods in the study of politics. A copy of the book should be sent to each member of the selection committee at the addresses provided below.

Nomination Instructions: Nominated books should be sent to all members of the selection committee at the addresses provided below.  Nominations can be submitted here.

Deadline for nominations: May 1, 2019

Award Committee:

Cyrus Samii
New York University
[email protected]

Victoria Shineman
University of Pittsburgh
[email protected]

Nichole Bauer
Louisiana State University
[email protected]

Best Dissertation Award

The Best Dissertation Award recognizes the best dissertation completed in calendar year 2018 that utilizes experimental methods on substantive questions about politics or makes a fundamental contribution to experimental methods.

Nomination Instructions: Nominations should come from faculty members although they need not be on the student’s dissertation committee. Nominated dissertations should be emailed to all members of the selection committee at the addresses provided below. Nominations can be submitted here.  

Deadline for Nominations: May 1, 2019

Award Committee:

Peter DeScioli
Stony Brook
[email protected]

Peter Van Der Windt
New York University Abu Dhabi
[email protected]

Jennifer Larson
Vanderbilt University
[email protected]

Best Paper Award

The Best Paper Award recognizes a paper that was scheduled to be presented at APSA in 2018 and features experimental research.

Nomination Instructions: Chairs of and discussants on panels are especially encouraged to nominate papers, although anyone who is aware of an interesting paper prepared for presentation can make the nomination. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominated papers should be emailed to all members of the selection committee at the addresses provided below. Nominations can be submitted here.

Deadline for Nominations: May 1, 2019
Award Committee:

Peter Loewen
University of Toronto
[email protected]

Sera Linardi
University of Pittsburgh
[email protected]

Dustin Tingley
Harvard University
[email protected]

Public Service Award

Many experiments only occur thanks to the assistance of non-researchers who provide access to resources and data. This award recognizes a special form of public service, the facilitation of randomized experiments in political science by those outside the academy. Considerations in the evaluation of nominees for this award include (1) their generosity with time, resources, and data and (2) their willingness to permit research transparency (e.g., allowing researchers to publish research without regard to how the results come out).

Nomination Instructions: Researchers should send a one paragraph description of the nominee to all committee members.  Nominations can be submitted here.

Deadline for Nominations: May 1, 2019

Award Committee:

Christopher Mann
[email protected]

Reuben Kline
Stony Brook
[email protected]

Kelly Bidwell
US General Services Administration
[email protected]

Donate to Section 42

Donate now to S42 Experimental Research Contribution