Canadian Politics, Section 40

The purpose of this section is to promote the interest in Canadian Politics, to provide a forum for the exchange of ideas and information related to Canadian Politics and to encourage the cumulation of knowledge about Canadian Politics.

Founded: 2009
Yearly membership dues: $0 for APSA Members who are students and $8.00 for other members.
Public Discussion List: APSA Connect discussion
Website: APSA Canadian Politics Section

Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Candace Johnson
University of Guelph

Ross Burkhart
Boise State

Cristine de Clercy
University of Western Ontario

2020 Program Chair
Jim Farney
University of Regina
[email protected]

Term: 09/2019-8/2021
Antoine Yoshinaka, State University of New York, Buffalo
Jim Farney, University of Regina
Randy Besco, University of Toronto

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 40. Canadian Politics awards to-date »

Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award

The Mildred A. Schwartz Lifetime Achievement Award goes to scholars who have made significant contributions through their career to the study of Canadian politics, either through development of political analysis of Canada or through incorporating Canada as a significant case in comparative political analyses.

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2019

Award Committee

Seymour Martin Lipset Best Book Award

The Seymour Martin Lipset Best Book Award is given to honor a significant contemporary contribution to the scholarship on Canadian politics, or Canada in a comparative perspective, or a comparative analysis of Canada with other countries, particularly the United States.

Nomination Instructions: Books dealing with Canadian politics, or incorporating Canada as a significant case in a comparative political analysis, that were published between 2013-2017 are eligible for consideration. Nominations, including self-nominations, and books should be sent to the Chair of the Selection Committee not later than March 1st, 2019.

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2019

Award Committee
Ross Burkhart, Chair
Boise State University
rburkh[email protected]  



Donate to Section 40

Donate now to S40 Canadian Politics Contribution