Health Politics and Policy (Section 39)

The organized section on Health Politics and Policy provides the ideal infrastructure in which members can more thoroughly, efficiently arm themselves with the additional expertise we need to explore health politics and policy questions. The Section will define “health politics and policy” just as broadly as the phrase implies. Everything from the politics of Medicare Part D to the politics of women’s health; everything from comparative politics of AIDS in Africa, Eastern Europe, and South Asia to the comparative state politics of Medicaid and SCHIP, everything from the ethics of end of life decisions to the regulation of stem cell research, everything from public budgeting and regulation to public health disaster preparedness – all these and more fall with the scope of the Section.

Founded: 2008
Public Discussion List: APSA Connect discussion
Publication: OSHPP Newsletter

Section Counts

Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $16

Section Officers

Section Officers

Donate to Section 39

Donate now to S39 Health Politics and Policy Contribution


Health Politics and Policy (Section 39)

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 39. Health Politics and Policy awards to-date »


Outstanding Public Engagement in Health Policy Award

The Outstanding Public Engagement in Health Policy Award is offered to an individual who has contributed to health and health care system improvement through sustained engagement in the political and policy making process.
Deadline for nominations: May 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Eduardo Gomez LeHigh University

[email protected]

Andrea Louise Campbell     Massachusetts Institute of Technology     [email protected]
Alan Zarychta University of Chicago [email protected]
Isabel Perera Cornell University  [email protected]

Leonard S. Robins Award for the Best Paper on Health Politics and Policy

The section’s Best Paper on Health Politics and Policy Award is named in honor of Leonard S. Robins, who through his presence and gentle questioning at virtually every health politics panel graciously nurtured the scholarship of both junior and senior scholars. The award recognizes the best paper on any subject that fits under the rubric of Health Politics and Policy presented at the previous annual APSA meeting.
Deadline for nominations: December 31, 2022

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Phillip Singer


University of Utah [email protected]
Kristin Lunz-Trujillo Northeastern University and Harvard University [email protected]
Ann Keller University of California - Berkley [email protected]

The David Kline Jones Distinguished Scholar Award

The purpose of this award is to recognize a junior or mid-career scholar for their distinguished contributions to the field of health policy and politics. The award honors the significant contributions of David Kline Jones, a scholar who had an enormous impact on the field of health policy and politics through impactful research, commitment to health equity, and generous and devoted attention to teaching and mentoring.
Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email

Patricia Strach (chair)

University at Albany [email protected]
Jonathan Oberlander University of North Carolina [email protected]
Colleen Grogan University of Chicago [email protected]