Human Rights (Section 36)

The Section on Human Rights was established to encourage scholarship and facilitate exchange of data and research findings on all components of human rights (e.g., civil, political, economic, social, cultural, environmental), their relationship, determinants and consequences of human rights policies, structure and influence of human rights organizations, development, implementation, and impact on international conventions, and changes in the international human rights regime.

Founded: 2000
Website: http://apsahumanrightssection.blogspot.com/

Section Counts


Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $0
Section Officers
Chair Brian Greenhill, State University of New York at Albany
Vice-Chair Kristen Monroe, University of California, Irvine
Vice-President Designate Bethany Barratt, Roosevelt University
Secretary Giorleny Altamirano Rayo, University of Texas
Treasurer Michael Struett, North Carolina State University
Social Media Coordinator Kyle Rapp, University of Southern California
2020 Annual Meeting
Program Chair
Kristen Monroe, University of California, Irvine
[email protected]

Lydia Brashear Tiede, University of Houston
Carrie Booth Walling, Albion College


Donate to Section 36

Donate now to S36 Human Rights Contribution


Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 36. Human Rights awards to-date »


Best Book Award

This competition is open to all books on human rights authored by members of APSA in the previous two calendar years. Please send one copy of the book to each member of the award committee. Standing Committees include three elected members. Each committee member is elected for a three-year term and can be re-elected for an additional two-year term. Members can run for a position in the same committee five years after the completion of their last term.  Deadline for nominations: April 15, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
George Andreopoulos (chair) City University of New York [email protected]
Alison Dundes Renteln University of Southern California [email protected]
Lucrecia Garcia Iommi Fairfield University http://[email protected]


Distinguished Scholar Award

Periodically, the Section may honor a distinguished scholar who has made a major contribution to the advancement of human rights scholarship and to our community through their research, teaching, mentoring of others, creation of opportunities for exchange and collaboration among scholars, or other means. Distinguished scholars will: · Have records of scholarly excellence, as demonstrated in their publications, grants, pedagogical accomplishments, and/or outreach and engagement efforts; · Have been active participants in the section, now or in the past, and have contributed to the maintenance of our scholarly community in some meaningful way (e.g., in a leadership or mentoring role, as an active panel or workshop participant, etc.); · Be at least 10 years from the date of their PhD degrees.
Procedure: Every three years, the Section will promulgate a call for nominations. Nomination packages should include a letter of nomination describing how the nominee meets the award criteria, the nominee’s detailed cv, and the names and contact information of up to four people who could provide references in support of the nomination. Self-nominations are not accepted. The committee will consider all nominations but reserves the right not to make an award if no nominees fulfill the criteria. The committee acknowledges that the division of academic labor remains deeply gendered, racialized, and hierarchical, including with respect to institutional type and type of academic appointment or affiliation. We especially invite nominations of scholars and scholar-activists who have made significant contributions to our field and profession in ways that work to challenge and eradicate these forms of domination.
Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Michael Goodhart University of Pittsburgh [email protected]
Zehra Arat University of Connecticut [email protected]
Alison Brysk University of California, Santa Barbara [email protected]

Best Dissertation Award

Dissertation making the greatest contribution to the field of human rights in the previous calendar year. Please send a copy to each member of the committee. Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Bethany Barratt (chair) Roosevelt University [email protected]
Marijke Breuning University of North Texas [email protected]
Lucas Swaine Dartmouth College [email protected]

Best Paper Award

This award recognizes the best paper presented on a Human Rights Section Panel at the APSA Annual Meeting. Deadline for nominations: April 1, 2021

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Brian Greenhill State University of New York at Albany [email protected]
Karen Zivi Grand Valley State University [email protected]
Shareen Hertel University of Connecticut [email protected]