Race, Ethnicity and Politics (Section 33)

The purpose of this section is to foster communication among scholars, recognize leadership in the field, facilitate research and publication opportunities, encourage undergraduate and student interest, and create a permanent forum for developing and refining appropriate theoretical models in the study of race and ethnicity.

Founded: 1995
Website: http://www.apsarep.org/
Public Discussion Lists: RACE-POL Listserv
Newsletter: Race, Ethnicity and Politics Section Newsletter

Section Counts


Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $20
Section Officers

Section Officers

Section Journal

Journal of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics


Publishes 3 times per year.

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 33. Race, Ethnicity and Politics awards to-date »


Best Dissertation Award

Best dissertation on the subject of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics completed in the academic year prior to APSA. (For APSA 2023, Academic Year 2022-2023). Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Princess Williams Amherst College prwilliams@amherst.edu
Maraam Dwidar Syracuse University madwidar@syr.edu
Christopher Towler California State University, Sacramento towler@csus.edu

Best Book Award

Best book on the subject of Race, Ethnicity, and Politics published in the prior two calendar years. For APSA 2023, books published in 2021 or 2022 will be considered.
Instructions: Please send one copy of each nominated book directly to each of the committee members at the addresses listed below. 
Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email Address
Valarie Martinez-Ebers University of North Texas Valerie.Martinez-Ebers@unt.edu Department of Political Science
University of North Texas
1155 Union Circle, Box 305888
Denton, TX 76203
Nadia Brown Georgetown University nadia.brown@georgetown.edu  
Corrinne McConnaughy Princeton University corrinem@princeton.edu Department of Politics
Princeton University
001 Fisher Hall
Princeton, NJ 08544-1012
Shamira Gelbman Wabash College gelbmans@wabash.edu Wabash College
402 Jennison Street
Crawfordsville, IN 47933
Deva Woodly The New School for Social Research woodlyd@newschool.edu 8 Willow Street, 
Beacon NY 12508 

Best Paper Award

Best paper presented in Section 32 (Race, Ethnicity, and Politics) during the previous APSA (2022). Please submit the conference version of the paper. 
Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Roberto Carlos University of Texas-Austin rcarlos@austin.utexas.edu
Vanessa Cruz Nichols Indiana University vcruznic@iu.edu
Margaret Teresa Brower Harvard University mtbrower@fas.harvard.edu


Best Paper on Intersectionality (Joint with Section 16)

The Best Paper Award is given for the best paper on women, gender, and politics at the previous year’s APSA conference. Any individual can nominate a paper for the award, including self-nominations. In addition, all papers presented in the Women and Politics Research Section and posted to the APSA conference paper website will be considered nominated.
Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Guillermo Caballero Salisbury University GACABALLERO@salisbury.edu

Donate to Section 33

Donate now to S33 Race, Ethnicity and Politics Contribution