Skip to Content

Donate to Section 24

Donate now to S24 Politics and History Contribution



Politics and History (Section 24)

The purpose of this section is to bring together political scientists interested in historical issues and problems drawing from almost every traditional disciplinary subfield.

Founded: 1989
Yearly membership dues: $0 for students and $10 for other members.
Journal: CLIO Newsletter of Politics and History

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Nancy Bermeo
Oxford University
[email protected]

Adam Sheingate
Johns Hopkins University
[email protected]

Robert Mickey
University of Michigan
[email protected]

2019 Annual Meeting Program Chairs
Erik Martinez Kuhonta
McGill University
[email protected]

Priscilla Yamin
University of Oregon
[email protected]

CLIO Newsletter Editor
Shamira Gelbman
Wabash College
[email protected]

Term: 9/2018-8/21
Julia Azari, Marquette University
Evgeny Finkel, SAIS Johns Hopkins University
Jonathan Obert, Amherst College
Sarah Staszak, WWS Princeton University

Term: 09/2017-08/2020
Mala Htun, University of New Mexico
Debra Thompson, University of Oregon
Daniel Wirls, University of Minnesota
David E. Wilkins, University of Minnesota 

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 24. Politics and History awards to-date »

J. David Greenstone Book Prize

The J. David Greenstone Book Prize recognizes the best book in history and politics in the past two calendar years.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2019

Award Committee

Paul Frymer
Princeton University
[email protected]

Eleonora Passotti
UC Santa Cruz
[email protected]

Jeffrey Selinger
Bowdoin College
[email protected]

Mary Parker Follett Prize

The Mary Parker Follett Prize recognizes the best article on Politics and History published in the previous year.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: To nominate an article for this award, send tan electronic copy of the article to Mala Htun c/o Anna Calasanti [email protected].

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2019

Award Committee

Jason Wittenberg
UC Berkeley
[email protected]

Jennifer Dixon
[email protected]

Nicole Mellow
Williams College
[email protected]

Walter Dean Burnham Dissertation Award

The Walter Dean Burnham Award is given for the best dissertation in the field of Politics and History.

Previous recipients »

Nomination Instructions: The committee welcomes nominations of outstanding dissertation from Ph.D.s awarded in the previous two calendar years. To nominate a dissertation for this award, send a copy of the dissertation and arrange for a supportive letter from the advisor or other faculty member of the dissertation committee to the following address:

Department of Political Science
Bentley Annex 266
Ohio University
Athens, OH 45701

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2019

Award Committee

Margaret Weir
Brown University
[email protected]

Jason Brownlee
UT Austin
[email protected]

Hillel Soifer
Temple University
[email protected]

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up