European Politics and Society (Section 21)

The purpose of the section is to promote comparative discussion, research and debate about the changing sociology of politics, the state and social structures in modern Western Europe.

Founded: 1989
Journal: European Politics and Society Syllabus Bank
Newsletter: European Politics and Society Newsletter
Website: connect.apsanet.org/s21

Section Counts


Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $10
Section Officers

Section Officers

Donate to Section 21

Donate now to S21 European Politics and Society Contribution


Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 21. European Politics and Society awards to-date »


Ernst B. Hass Best Dissertation Award

The Ernst B. Haas Best Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation on European politics and society filed in 2022. 
Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Kiran Auerbach University of Zurich [email protected]
Sivaram Cheruvu University of Texas at Dallas [email protected]
Mathilde Emeriau London School of Economics [email protected]

Best Book Award

Best book published on European politics in 2022. Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Deborah Boucoyannis George Washington University [email protected]
David Fortunato University of California, San Diego [email protected]
Matthias Matthijs Johns Hopkins University [email protected]

Best Paper Award

Best paper on European politics presented at APSA 2022. Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Florian Foos London School of Economics [email protected]
Anil Menon Cornell University/University of California, Merced [email protected]
Alexander Wuttke Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München [email protected]

Best Article Award

The Best Article Award is given for the best article dealing with European politics and society published in 2022. Deadline for nominations: March 15, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Daniel Bischof Aarhus University [email protected]
Ruth Dassonneville University of Montreal [email protected]
Lukas Haffert University of Zurich [email protected]

Peter Mair Travel Award

Awards up to two travel funds annually to enable young scholars to attend the APSA meeting. Named in memory of Professor Peter Mair, one of the foremost scholars of European politics, the award is meant explicitly to enable young scholars of European politics without alternative funding to present a paper in one of the panels organized by the EPS section. First-time APSA attendants who are graduate students or junior professors from underfunded European universities (notably in the East and South) are prioritized, but senior scholars from such institutions as well as junior scholars from underfunded non-European universities (including the US) are also considered. Applicants are expected to also apply to all other travel funds they are eligible for, including their department/university, national science foundations, and the APSA Travel Fund. The awards are set at a maximum of $1,000 each, but partial/matching funding is possible too.
Deadline for nominations: Not awarded in 2022

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Antje Ellermann University of British Columbia [email protected]
Tine Paulsen University of Southern California [email protected]
Christina Schneider University of California, San Diego [email protected]