X
GO
Law and Courts (Section 2)

The purpose of this section is to promote interest in teaching and research in the areas of law and the judicial process.


Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 (Online Only Journal) $30 
Founded: 1983
Website:
 http://lawcourts.org/

Social: @LawCourtsAPSA

Public Discussion List: LAWCOURT-L Listserv

Section Counts

Section Officers

Section Officers

Section Journal
Donate to Section 2

Donate now to S02 Law and Courts Contribution

Amount:

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 02. Law and Courts awards to-date »

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee solicits the members of the Section for nominations for Section offices. The committee shall nominate a slate of officers that (a) is taken from the names received particularly those persons receiving several mentions, and (b) represents the diverse interests of the Section. The slate will be distributed to the Section members so that the nominees are known prior to the Annual Section Meeting. This year the committee will be responsible for nominating a chair-elect and three executive committee members. Information on section leadership and bylaws can be found here: http://lawcourts.org/wordpress/Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Wendy Martinek (Chair) Binghamton University  martinek@binghamton.edu
Morgan Hazelton Saint Louis University morgan.hazelton@slu.edu
Eileen Braman Indiana University Bloomington ebraman@indiana.edu
Lydia Tiede  University of Houston lbtiede@uh.edu
Gbemende Johnson University of Georgia  gbemende.johnson@uga.edu


 

Law and Courts Best Conference Paper Award

The Law and Courts Best Conference Paper Award (formerly the American Judicature Society Award) is given annually for the best paper on law and courts presented at the previous year’s annual meetings of the American, International, or regional political science associations. Single- and co-authored papers, written by political scientists, are eligible. Papers may be nominated by any member of the Section. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Brandon Bartels (Chair) George Washington University  bartels@gwu.edu
Bailey Fairbanks

University of Central Arkansas

bfairbanks@uca.edu
Elizabeth Lane North Carolina State University  elane3@ncsu.edu
Allyson Yankle Radford University  ayankle@radford.edu

Law and Courts Best Graduate Student Paper

This award (formerly the CQ Press Award) is given annually for the best paper in the field of law and courts written by a graduate student. To be eligible, the nominated paper must have been written by a full-time graduate student. Single- and co-authored papers are eligible. In the case of co-authored papers, each author must have been a full-time graduate student at the time the paper was written. Submitted papers may have been written for any purpose (including papers written for seminar, scholarly meetings, and for potential publication in academic journals). This is NOT, however, a dissertation or thesis prize. Papers may be nominated by faculty members or by the students themselves. The papers must have been written during the twelve months previous to the nomination deadline. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email

Matthew Montgomery (Chair)

Texas Christian University  m.d.montgomery@tcu.edu
Jennifer Jacobson Kutztown University  jacobson@kutztown.edu
Abigail Matthews University of Buffalo aamatthe@buffalo.edu
Alison Merrill Susquehanna University  merrill@susqu.edu
Nicholas Waterbury University of Illinois Springfield nwate3@uis.edu

Law and Courts Best Journal Article Award

This award recognizes the best journal article in the field of law and courts written by a political scientist and published during the previous calendar year. Articles published in all refereed journals and in law reviews are eligible, but book reviews, review essays, and chapters published in edited volumes are not eligible. Journal editors and members of the section may nominate articles. (This award was previously known as McGraw Hill Award and as the Houghton-Mifflin Award for the Best Journal Article in the Field of Law and Courts). Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2. Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Rachael Hinkle (Chair) University at Buffalo, SUNY  rkhinkle@buffalo.edu
Susan Achury Lycoming College achury@lycoming.edu
Francesca Parente Christopher Newport University  francesca.parente@cnu.edu
Joshua Boston  Bowling Green State University  jboston@bgsu.edu
Kira Tait University of California Santa Cruz kitait@ucsc.edu

C. Herman Pritchett Award

The C. Herman Pritchett award is given annually for the best book on law and courts written by a political scientist and published the previous year. Please note that case books and edited books are not eligible for consideration. Books may be nominated by publishers or by members of the Section.  Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2 Deadline for Nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Ali Masood (Chair) Oberlin College amasood@oberlin.edu
Amanda Driscoll Florida State University adriscoll@fsu.edu
Jay Krehbiel West Virginia University  jay.krehbiel@mail.wvu.edu
Natalie Rogol Rhode Island College nrogol_4540@ric.edu
Elisha Savchak-Trogdon Elon University esavchaktrogdon@elon.edu

Law and Courts Lifetime Achievement Award

Given for a lifetime of significant scholarship, teaching and service to the Law and Courts field. Nominees must be political scientists who are at least 65 years of age or who have been active in the field for at least 25 years. Nominations from previous competitions will be carried forward to the current year’s competition. The committee will retain nominations for 3 years, but you are invited to re-nominate an individual and renew the materials in the file during each cycle. Nominations may be made by any member of the Section and should consist of a statement outlining the contributions of the nominee and, if possible, a copy of the nominee’s vitae. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2. Deadline for Nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Rorie Solberg (Chair) Oregon State University  rorie.spillsolberg@oregonstate.edu
Jeffrey Staton Emory University  jkstato@emory.edu
Christina Boyd University of Georgia cLboyd@uga.edu
Paul M. Collins, Jr. University of Massachusetts Amherst pmcollins@legal.umass.edu

Law and Courts Lasting Contribution Award

Awarded annually to a book or journal article, 10 years old or older, that has made a lasting impression on the field of law and courts. Only books and articles written by political scientists are eligible; single-authored works produced by winners of the Lifetime Achievement Award are not eligible. Any member of the Section may submit a nomination. The nomination should include a statement outlining the nature of the contribution of the nominated work. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2.Deadline for Nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Ryan Black (Chair) Michigan State University  rcblack@msu.edu
Rebecca Gill University of Nevada, Las Vegas rebecca.gill@unlv.edu
Kayla Canelo University of Texas at Arlington  kayla.canelo@uta.edu
Timothy Johnson University of Minnesota trj@umn.edu
Tao Dumas The College of New Jersey dumast@tcnj.edu

Law and Courts Service Award

The Law and Courts Service Award recognizes service to the section in the literal sense, as in service on committees and in leadership positions, as well as service within the Section, as in service to the profession within the field of law and courts in the form of archiving data, promoting infrastructure, representing the profession in the media, etc. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2. Deadline for Nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Monica Lineberger (Chair) University of Wisconsin - Whitewater ineberm@uww.edu
Sivaram Cheruvu University of Texas at Dallas Sivaram.Cheruvu@UTDallas.edu
Amy Steigerwalt Georgia State University  asteigerwalt@gsu.edu
Rachael Houston Texas Christian University  r.houston@tcu.edu
Jessica Schoenherr University of South Carolina js122@mailbox.sc.edu

Law and Courts Teaching and Mentoring Award

The Teaching and Mentoring Award recognizes innovative teaching and instructional methods and materials in law and courts. Examples of innovations that might be recognized by this award include (but are not limited to) outstanding textbooks, websites, classroom exercises, syllabi, or other devices designed to enhance the transmission of knowledge about law and courts to undergraduate or graduate students. Any member of the section may make a nomination for the Teaching and Mentoring Award by submitting a statement identifying the nominee and outlining the nature of the her or his innovation and the contribution it makes to achieving the purposes of the award (e-mail attachments, in the form of .pdf files, are acceptable). The Teaching and Mentoring Award is supported by a generous contribution from the Division for Public Education of the American Bar Association. Previous award winners can be found here: https://www.apsanet.org/STAFF/Membership-Workspace/Organized-Sections/Organized-Section-Awards/Organized-Section-Awards/Section-2. Deadline for Nominations: March 1, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Laura Moyer (Chair) University of Louisville laura.moyer@louisville.edu
Adam Nye Pennsylvania State University  awn10@psu.edu
Sahar Abi-Hassan Northeastern University  s.abi-hassan@northeastern.edu
Jonathan King  West Virginia University  jonathan.king@mail.wvu.edu
Christopher Krewson Brigham Young University  chris_krewson@byu.edu