Skip to Content

Donate to Section 19

Donate now to S19 International Security and Arms Control Contribution



International Security (Section 19)

The purpose of this section is to encourage research and scholarship in international security and arms control, providing an opportunity for presentation of papers and discussion of theoretical and empirical work at APSA section meetings.

Founded: 1988
Yearly membership dues: $10.00 for students and $10.00 for other members.
Section Counts

Organized sections provide opportunities for APSA members who share a common interest in a particular subfield to organize meetings and coordinate communications under Association auspices.

More on organized sections »

Section Officers

Chris Demchak
US Naval War College
[email protected]

David Sacko
US Air Force Academy
[email protected]

Jeffrey Larsen
NATO Defense College
[email protected]

2017 Annual Meeting Program Chairs
Dan Lindley
University of Notre Dame
[email protected]

Austin Carson
University of Chicago
[email protected]

John Schuessler
Texas A&M University
[email protected]

David Sacko, US Air Force Academy
Stephen Grenier, Kings College London
Alice Ackermann, Nazarbayev University
Lindsay Cohn, Naval War College
Thomas Mahnken
Sean Lynn Jones, Harvard University
Josh Rovner, American University
Jennifer Erickson, Boston College
Joshua Shirinson
Gale Mattox
James Wirtz, Naval Postgraduate School
Dan Lindley, University of Notre Dame
Jeffrey Larsen, NATO Defense College
Chris Demchak, Naval War College
Paul Viotti, University of Denver
Joyce Kaufman, Whittier College

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 19. International Security and Arms Control awards to-date »

Kenneth N. Waltz Dissertation Award

Eligibility: ISAC will consider doctoral dissertations on any aspect of security studies with a submission date in calendar year 2016.

Criteria: The committee welcomes nominations for theses on any aspect, and that deploy any approach (historical, quantitative, theoretical, policy analysis, etc.), in the field of security studies. Theses will be judged according to four criteria:

  • originality in substance and approach
  • significance for scholarly and/or policy debates
  • rigor in approach and analysis
  • power of expression

Process: Nominations must include three components:

  • A complete electronic copy of the field dissertation
  • A summary statement of no more than 1,000 words from the student
  • A brief supporting statement of no more than 500 words from the dissertation supervisor

Prize and notification: Decisions will be made in the summer.  The prize winner will be awarded $500 along with an award certificate. The Committee reserves the right not to make the award in any given year.  Contact Committee Chair for other information including Committee member list.

See past recipients here.

Committee Members:

Jennifer Erickson, Chair
Boston College
[email protected]

Joseph J. Kruzel Memorial Award for Public Service

The Joseph J.Kruzel Memorial Award for Distinguished Public Service is awarded to a scholar who has made significant contributions in both academe and in government. It is given to memorialize Joseph Kruzel, a security studies scholar and Department of Defense policy official who was killed while on a diplomatic mission to Bosnia.  Previous awardees include Joseph Nye: Kenneth Waltz; Catherin Kelleher; Steve Krassner; and James Steinberg, among others.  The award is $500 fro travel and $500 along with a certificate.  The Committee reserves the right not to make the award in any given year.  Contact Committee Chair for other information including Committee member list.

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: TBA

Committee Members:

Richard Cupitt
[email protected]

Gale Mattox
[email protected]

Best Article Award

The International Security organized section of APSA (formerly ISAC) Best Article Award seeks to recognize the best peer-reviewed articles in the field of international security and security studies broadly defined each year.  Eligible articles must have appeared in print ion a relevant peer-reviewed journal in 2017.  Authors must be IS/ISAC members.  Nominations do not need to be section members.  Nominations will consist of a single PDF that includes the article and a nomination letter explaining why the article moved international security studies forward and merits consideration as the "best" article in international security studies.  The winner will receive $500 prize and a certificate, as well as $500 in travel support if they attend the reception to receive the award in person.  

Previous recipients »

Deadline for nominations: March 1, 2018 

Committee Members:
Jacqueline Hazelton
Naval War College
[email protected]

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up