Foundations of Political Theory (Section 17)

The Foundations of Political Theory Section exists to advance the linkage of political theory and philosophy with political science as a discipline. Foundations recognizes and encourages research and teaching that crosses intellectual and disciplinary boundaries. It stands at and seeks to support the intersection where philosophical, psychological, normative, and empirical approaches and problems meet. Foundations, as the name suggests, aims to study the more permanent dimensions of political life ranging from the design of institutions and political practices to the terms and concepts used to interpret the former. At the Foundations web site, you will find information about the section, including its officers, its newsletter, and a 'bookstore' where you can browse past and new titles in political theory. One new feature is a listing of job opportunities for political theorists and recent placements. If you are not already a member of the section, we hope that you will join us.

Founded: 1987
Public Discussion List: APSA Connect discussion

Section Counts

Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $10

Section Officers

Section Officers

Donate to Section 17

Donate now to S17 Foundations of Political Theory Contribution


Foundations of Political Theory (Section 17)

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 17. Foundations of Political Theory awards to-date »


David Easton Award

The David Easton Award is given for a book that broadens the horizons of contemporary political science by engaging issues of philosophical significance in political life through any of a variety of approaches in the social sciences and humanities. Deadline for nominations: February 15, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Kennan Ferguson University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee kennan@uwm.edu
Corey Robin City University of New York crobin@brooklyn.cuny.edu
Melissa Schwartzberg New York University ms268@nyu.edu 

First Book Award

The First Book Award is given for a first book by a scholar in the early stages of his or her career in the area of political theory or political philosophy. Deadline for nominations: February 15, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
PJ Brendese Johns Hopkins University pbrende1@jhu.edu
Benjamin McKean Ohio State University mckean.41@osu.edu
Shalini Pradeepa Satkunanandan University of California, Davis ssatkunanandan@ucdavis.edu

Best Paper Award

Best Paper Award is given for the best paper presented on a Foundations panel at the previous year's APSA Annual Meeting. Nominations are limited to presenters untenured as of September 2019. Deadline for nominations: February 15, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Nina Hagel Wesleyan University nhagel@wesleyan.edu
Noga Rotem University of Washington nrotem@uw.edu
David Termin University of Michigan detmin@umich.edu

Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory

The Okin-Young Award in Feminist Political Theory, co-sponsored by Women and Politics, Foundations of Political Theory, and the Women’s Caucus for Political Science, commemorates the scholarly, mentoring, and professional contributions of Susan Moller Okin and Iris Marion Young to the development of the field of feminist political theory. This annual award recognizes the best paper on feminist political theory published in an English language academic journal during the previous calendar year. Deadline for nominations: February 15, 2024

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Danielle Hanley Clark University danhanley@clarku.edu