Religion and Politics (Section 11)

The purpose of this section is to encourage the study of the interrelations between religion and politics, including the politics of religious pluralism; law, religion and governance; faith, practice and political behavior; and the politics of secularism, in the United States as well as in a comparative, historical, and global perspective.

Founded: 1986
Website: https://connect.apsanet.org/s11/    

Social: @apsa_section11

Section Counts

Section Membership Dues

Student Regular
$0 $14 (online only journal)
Section Officer

Section Officers

Section Journal

Religion and Politics


Publishes 4 times per year.

Subscription included with regular membership.

Section Awards

Section awards are presented during the APSA annual meeting awards ceremony. To learn more about any award listed, contact the award committee chair for the award.

All section 11. Religion and Politics awards to-date »


Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award

The Kenneth D. Wald Best Graduate Student Paper Award will be given annually to a conference paper studying any aspect of religion and politics presented by a Ph.D. student in political science. The conference can be affiliated with any of the US-based political science associations or a conference affiliated with another association, such as the Society for the Scientific Study of Religion, the American Academy of Religion, the Middle East Studies Association, or the International Studies Association, as long as the paper was written by a student or students enrolled in a graduate program in political science and presented in 2021 or 2022. 
Deadline for nominations: March 17, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
L. Felipe Mantilla University of South Florida lfm1@usf.edu
Jeremy Menchik Boston University  menchik@bu.edu
Ben Gaskins Lewis & Clark College bgaskins@lclark.edu

Ted Jelen Best Journal Article in Politics and Religion Award

This award is presented for the best article published in Politics and Religion in the 2022 calendar year.

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Michael Driessen John Cabot University  mdriessen@johncabot.edu
Joel Day Princeton University  joel@joeldaysd.com
Rebecca Glaizer University of Arkansas rebecca.glazier@gmail.com

Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar in Religion and Politics Award

The Susanne Hoeber Rudolph Outstanding Scholar Award recognizes a scholar who has made outstanding contributions to the field of religion and politics. These contributions should be through a combination of excellent and widely influential scholarship, policy input/impact, public engagement, service, teaching, and mentorship.
Deadline for nominations: March 17, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Paul Djupe Denison University  pdjupe@gmail.com
Laura Olson Clemson University laurao@clemson.edu
Sabri Ciftci Kansas State University ciftci@ksu.edu

Hubert Morken Best Book in Religion and Politics Award

The Hubert Morken Award is given for the best book dealing with religion and politics published within the previous year. The criteria for the award include the originality of the argument presented, quality of the research, innovative methods, readability of the text and the policy or practical implications of the scholarship. To be eligible for the award, books must have been published in 2022. 
Deadline for nominations: March 17, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Vineeta Yadav Pennsylvania State University  vuy2@psu.edu
Jonathan Laurence Boston College  jonathan.laurence@bc.edu
John Green  University of Akron green@uakron.edu

Aaron Wildavsky Best Dissertation in Religion and Politics Award

APSA Religion and Politics Section invites nominations for the Aaron Wildavsky Dissertation Award. The Aaron Wildavsky Award recognizes the best dissertation in the field of religion and politics. Eligible dissertations have been defended in the last two years (2021 or 2022), and should make a distinctive contribution to the study of religion and politics, broadly understood. Deadline for nominations: March 17, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Nandini Deo Lehigh University ndd208@lehigh.edu
Jessica Soedirgo University of Amsterdam j.soedirgo@uva.nl
John McTague Towson University jmctague@towson.edu

Weber Best Conference Paper in Religion and Politics Award

Weber Best Paper in Religion and Politics Award recognizes the best paper dealing with religion and politics presented at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting (2022). The paper should address a timely and relevant topic, within the discipline and beyond, in a theoretically innovative and methodologically thorough manner. Deadline for nominations: March 17, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email
Kikue Hamayotsu Northern Illinois University khamayotsu@niu.edu
Cammie Bolin University at Albany, SUNY cbolin@albany.edu
Ahmed Ezzeldin Mohamed Stanford University  aem2251@columbia.edu


Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award of the Religion & Politics Section of the American Political Science Association (APSA) recognizes outstanding scholars of religion and politics at the point of retirement (or shortly thereafter) who have made enduring contributions to the field through their scholarship, service, and mentorship. The award is intended to honor recipients who were regular and active Religion & Politics Section members during the periods of their primary contributions to the field. 

Anticipating that such scholars are exceptional, the call for nominations will remain open, the nominations will be confidential, and the award is not expected to be given every year. The Award committee will be composed of the Executive Committee of the Religion & Politics Section, chaired by the section chair, to whom nominations shall be addressed. Nominations should be submitted to the section chair by e-mail (at tezcur@ucf.edu) no later than May 15 preceding the business meeting of the section at APSA Conference 2023 where the candidate would be honored. The executive committee will decide whether to grant at most one of the awards by August 1, 2023 preceding the business meeting, where the recipient will be honored with a plaque and a prize of $500. Award recipients will also receive a feature describing their contributions on the section website.

 Deadline for nominations: May 15, 2023

Award Committee

Name Affiliation Email

Donate to Section 11

Donate now to S11 Religion and Politics Contribution