Skip to Content

Organized Section 38: Best Dissertation Award

Sexuality and Politics Section Award Recipients

Best Dissertation Award
The Best Dissertation Award recognizes the best dissertation on sexuality and politics completed and successfully defended in the previous two calendar years. The award is open to all scholarship that falls under the broad rubric of sexuality and politics, including studies concerning the regulation of sexuality, political responses to the regulation of sexuality, the uses of sexuality as a political construct, the intersections of sexuality with gender, race, and class, or LGBT politics and mobilizations.


Satoko Itani
, University of Toronto
Japanese Female and 'Trans' Athletes: Negotiating Subjectivity and Media Constructions of Gender, Sexuality, and Nation.” University of Toronto, 2015 
2016 Carly Thomsen, University of California, Santa Barbara
Unbecoming: Visibility Politics and Queer Rurality.” University of California, Santa Barbara, 2014 
2015  Bogdan Popa, Oberlin College
“Parting Company with the Opinion of the World”: Shame and Political Agency in Nineteenth Century Anglo-American Feminism” 
2014 Phillip Ayoub, Cornell University
"When States 'Come Out': The Politics of Visibility and the Diffusion of Sexual Minority Rights in Europe"
2011 Jeremiah Garretson, Vanderbilt University
Changing Media, Changing Minds: The Lesbian and Gay Movement, Television and Public Opinion
2011 Sami Zeidan, Graduate Center of the City University of New York
Navigating International Rights and Local Politics: Sexuality Governance in a Post-Colonial Setting
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up