Organized Section 3: Carl Albert Dissertation Award

Legislative Studies Section Award Recipients

Carl Albert Dissertation Award
The Carl Albert Dissertation Award is given annually for the best dissertation in legislative studies. Topics may be national or subnational in focus-on Congress, parliaments, state legislatures, or other representative bodies.


2018 Alison W. Craig, University of Texas at Austin
"Crafting a Broad Appeal: Congressional Audiences and Policy Collaboration in the Modern Legislature." Ohio State University.
2017  Michelle Whyman, Duke University
"The Roots of Legislative Durability: How Information, Deliberation, and Compromise Create Laws that Last." University of Texas at Austin
2016  Molly E. Reynolds, Brookings Institution
"Exceptions to the Rule: Majoritarian Procedures and Majority Party Power in the U.S. Senate." University of Michigan, 2015. 
2014 Eitan Tzelgov, Pennsylvania State University
"Words as Weapons: Opposition Rhetoric and Partisan Strategy."
2014 Honorable Mention
David Willumsen, European University Institute - Florence
"Party, Preferences & Pragmatic Fidelity: Explaining Voting Unity in European Legislatures."
2013 Nicholas Carnes, Duke University
"By the Upper Class, For the Upper Class? Representational Inequality and Economic Policymaking in the United States"
2012 James Curry, University of Utah
Information Control: Leadership Power in the U.S. House of Representatives (Completed at University of Maryland; advised by Frances E. Lee)
2011 Amber Wichowsky, Yale University
"The Competition Cure? The Consequences of Completive Congressional Elections"
2010 Patrick Egan, New York University
"Issue Ownership and Representation in American Politics"
2009 Tom Clark, Princeton University
"The Politics of Judicial Independence: Court Curbing and the Separation of Powers"
2006 Kathryn Pearson, University of California, Berkeley
"Party Discipline in the Contemporary Congress: Rewarding Loyalty in Theory and Practice"
2005 Robert Van Houweling, Harvard University
"Legislators' Personal Policy Preferences and Partisan Legislative Organization"
2005 Gail McElroy, Trinity College
"In Pursuit of Party Discipline: Committees and Cohesion in the European Parliament"
2004 Christian Grose, University of Rochester
"Beyond the Vote: A Theory of Black Representation in Congress" (Supervisor: Harold Stanley)
2002 Deborah Brooks, Yale University
"When Candidates Attack: The Effects of negative Campaigning on Voter Turnout in Senate Elections"
2001 Michele Swers, Harvard University
"From the Year of the Woman to the Republican Ascendency: Evaluating the Policy Impact of Women in Congress"