Skip to Content

Organized Section 23: David Swanson Career Achievement Award

Political Communication Section Award Recipients

David Swanson Career Achievement Award
The David Swanson Career Achievement Award recognizes distinguished and sustained contributions to the field as planners, editors, and leaders and in roles that require time and energy, innovation, and personal dedication. The award honors David Swanson, one of the founders of Political Communication who gave exemplary service to the ICA Political Communication Division and the APSA Political Communication Section. In his memory, the ICA division presents the award every other year. The joint award committee includes representatives of the ICA division and APSA section. The ICA division chair appoints members with the advice of the APSA chair, and the committee receives nominations and generates additional candidates, deliberates on the pool of potential awardees, and makes a selection. The winner receives the award plaque at the annual business meeting of the ICA Political Communication Division. The award is given in even-numbered years.

2016  Shanto Iyengar, Stanford University 
2014 Patricia Moy, University of Washington
2012 David Paletz, Duke University
2010   Doris Graber, University of Illinois at Chicago
2008  Wolfgang DonsbachTechnical University of Dresden
2006  Ann Crigler, University of Southern California
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up