Organized Section 17: First Book Award

Foundations of Political Thought Section Award Recipients

First Book Award
The First Book Award is given for a first book by a scholar in the early stages of his or her career in the area of political theory or political philosophy.

2017 Joseph J. Fischel
Sex and Harm in the Age of Consent
2016  Neil Roberts, Williams College
Freedom as Marronage. University of Chicago Press 
2016  Shalini Satkunanandan, University of California, Davis
Extraordinary Responsibility: Politics Beyond the Moral Calculus. Cambridge University Press 
2015  Banu Bargu, New School for Social Research
Starve and Immolate: The Politics of Human Weapons. Columbia University Press, 2014. 
2014 Christopher Lebron, Yale University
The Color of Our Shame: Race and Justice in Our Time (Oxford University Press)

Jeffrey Church
Infinite Autonomy: The Divided Individual in the Political Thought of G. W. F. Hegel and Friedrich Nietzsche

2012 Stephen Marshall, University of Texas, Austin
The City on the Hill from Below: The Crisis of Prophetic Black Politics (Temple University Press, 2011)
2010 Jeffrey Green, University of Pennsylvania
The Eyes of the People: Democracy in a Age of Spectatorship
2009 Samantha Frost, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign
Lessons from a Materialist Thinker (Stanford University Press)
2007 Bryan Garsten, Yale Univesrity
Saving Persuasion: A Defense of Rhetoric and Judgment, Harvard University Press, 2006
2006 Elisabeth Ellis, Texas A&M University
Kant's Politics: Provisional Theory for an Uncertain World (Yale University Press, 2005)
2006 Jennifer Pitts, Princeton University
A Turn to Empire: Rise of Imperial Liberalism in Britain and France (Princeton University Press, 2005)
2005 Corey Robin, CUNY Brooklyn
Fear: The History of a Political Idea (Oxford University Press, 2004).
2004 Alan Keenan, Bryn Mawr College
Democracy in Question: Democratic Openness in a Time of Political Closure (Stanford University Press, 2003)
2004 Patchen Markell, University of Chicago
Bound by Recognition (Princeton University Press, 2003)
2003 Laura Janara, University of British Columbia
Democracy Growing Up: Authority, Autonomy and Passion in Tocqueville's Democracy in America (SUNY Press)
2002 Ayelet Shachar, University of Toronto
Multicultural Jurisdictions: Cultural Differences and Women's Rights
2002 Honorable Mention
Dan Engster, University of Texas, San Antonio
Multicultural Jurisdictions: Cultural Differences and Women's Rights (Cambridge University Press, 2001)
2001 Sara Monoson, Northwestern University
Plato's Democratic Entanglements
2000 Alan Patten, McGill University
Hegel's Idea of Freedom (Oxford University Press, 1999)
1999 C. Thompson, Ashland University
John Adams and the Spirit of Liberty (University of Kansas Press, 1998)
1999 Melissa Williams, University of Toronto
Voice, Trust, and Memory (Princeton University Press, 1998)
1998 James Bailey, Princeton University
Utilitarianism, Institutions, and Justice (Oxford University Press, 1997)
1997 Simone Chambers, University of Toronto
Reasonable Democracy (Cornell University Press, 1996)
1994 Bonnie Honig, Harvard University
Political Theory and the Displacement of Politics (Cornell University Press, 1993)
1993 Richard Sinopoli, University of California, Davis
The Foundations of American Citizenship and Civic Virtue (New York: Oxford University Press, 1992)
1992 Alan Houston, University of California, San Diego
Algernon Sydney and the Republican Heritage in England and America (Princeton University Press, 1991)
1991 Stephen Leonard, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Political Theory in Political Practice (Princeton University Press, 1990)
1990 William Corlett, Bates College
Community Without Unity: A Politics of Deridian Extravagance (Duke University Press)