Skip to Content

Organized Section 17: Best Paper Award

Foundations of Political Thought Section Award Recipients

Best Paper Award
The Best Paper Award is given for the best paper presented on a foundations panel at the previous year’s APSA Annual Meeting.

2017  Zach Reyna, Johns Hopkins University
"Bovine Bellow and Aquiline Vision: Aquinas' Ecological Approach to Law & Politics"
2016  Josh Simon, Columbia University
“Jose Marti’s Immanent Critique of American Imperialism” 
2015  Alex Gourevitch, Brown University
"Quitting Work But Not the Job: Liberty and the Right to Strike." 
2014 Brandon Terry, Yale University
"Rawls, Race, and Critique: Engaging with Charles Mills' The Racial Contract"
2014 Eline Severs, Vrije Universiteit Brussel
"Determining the Quality of Women’s Substantive Representation: A Study of Muslem Women’s Voice and Influence in the Belgian Headscarf Debate."
2012 Jane Gordon, Temple University
Theorizing Contemporary Practices of Slavery
2011 Lisa Blaydes, Stanford University
"How Does Islamist Local Governance Affect the Lives of Women?: A Comparative Study of Two Cairo Neighborhoods"
2011 Farah Godrej, University of California, Riverside
"Gandhi's Body: Asceticism, Pain and Suffering in Environmental Political Discourse"
2010 Philip Michelbach, West Virginia University
"Renewing Democratic Authority: Hamlet's Politics with (and against) Carl Schmitt"
2010 Andrew Poe, University of California, San Diego
"Renewing Democratic Authority: Hamlet's Politics with (and against) Carl Schmitt"
2006 Patchen Markell, University of Chicago
"The Insufficiency of Non-Domniation"
2005 Samuel Chambers, University of Wales Swansea
"The Alterirty of the Present: Reading Sexuality in Six Feet Under"
2003 Leigh Jenco, University of Chicago
"Representing a Noble Heart: Thoreau's Critique of Democracy"
2002 Lawrie Balfour, University of Virginia
"The Argument of John Brown"
2002 Roy Tsao, Georgetown University
"Arendt Against Athens: Rereading the Human Condition"
2001 Jennifer Pitts, Yale University
"Legislator of the World? A Rereading of Bentham on India."
1999 Albert Dzur, Univerity of Utah
"Comprehensive Liberal Politics and the Fact of Pluralism"
1998 Kennan Ferguson, University of Hawaii
"Communities of Meaning: Toward a Kantian Non-Universal Judgment"
1997 Elizabeth Wingrove, University of Michigan
"Republican Romance"
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up