Skip to Content

Organized Section 15: Virginia M. Walsh Dissertation Award

Science, Technology & Environmental Section Award Recipients

Virginia M. Walsh Dissertation Award
The Virginia Walsh Dissertation Award is named in honor of a young scholar who tragically passed away last year, is given for the best dissertations in the field of science, technology and environmental politics.

2017  Yue (Iza) Ding, University of Pittsburgh
"Invisible Sky, Visible State: Environmental Governance and Political Support in China."
2016  Matto Mildenberger, University of California, Santa Barbara
Fiddling While the World Burns: The Double Representation of Carbon Polluters in Comparative Climate Policymaking." Yale University, 2015 
2015  Stefan Renckens, University of Toronto
“Regulating Transnational Private Governance: Domestic Interests, Market Fragmentation, and Institutional Fit in the European Union.” Yale University, 2014 
2014 Alexander Ovodenko, Princeton University
"Pathways of Cooperation: Integrated and Unintegrated International Environmental Governance." 2013
2013 Steven Samford, University of Notre Dame
"High Road Development in a Low-Tech Industry: Policymakers, Producer Networks, and the Co-Production of Innovation in the Mexican Ceramics Sector."
2012 Jennifer Hadden, University of Maryland
Contesting Climate Change: Civil Society Networks and Collective Action in the European Union (Completed at Cornell University; advised by Sidney Tarrow)
2012 Kemi Fuentes-George, Middlebury College
Scientific Knowledge, Epistemic Communities and Environmental Policy in the Developing World (Completed at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst; advised by Peter Haas)
2011 Jessica Green, Case Western Reserve University
Private Actors, Public Goods: Private Authority in Global Environmental Politics
2010 Jennifer Bussell, University of Louisville
Resisting Reform: Technological Backwardness in Political Perspective
2009 Ngeta Kabiri, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
"Global Environmental Governance and Community Based Conservation in Kenya and Tanzania"
2008  Mark Zachary Taylor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
"The Political Economy of Technological Innovation: A Change in the Debate" 
2006 Sangbum Shin, University of Oregon
"From Red to Green: Economic Globalization and Environmental Protection in China"
2005 Daniel Sherman, University of Puget Sound
Not Here, Not There: The Federal, State, and Local Politics of Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal in the United States (Cornell, August 2004).
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up