Skip to Content

Organized Section 10: John T. Williams Dissertation Prize

Political Methodology Section Award Recipients

John T. Williams Dissertation Prize
In recognition of the John T. Williams' contribution to graduate training, the John T. Williams Award has been established for the best dissertation proposal in the area of political methodology. Proposals using quantitative or qualitative methods are welcomed. Proposals are due March 1st and should follow National Science Foundation format guidelines.

2017  Naoki Egami, Princeton University 
2016  Dean Knox, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Essays on Modeling and Causal Inference in Network Data.” 
2015  Drew Dimmery, New York University
"Essays on Machine Learning and Causal Inference with Applications to Nonprofits" 
2014 Yiqing Xu, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
"Casual Inference with Time-Series Cross-Section Data with Applications to Chinese Political Economy."
2013 Scott Cook, University of Pittsburgh
"The Contagion of Crises: Estimating Models of Endogenous and Interdependent Rare Events"
2012 Adriana Crespo-Tenorio, Washington University in St Louis
Three Papers on the Political Consequences of Oil Price Volatility (completed at Washington University, advised by
2011 Matthew Blackwell, Harvard University
"Essays in Political Methodology and American Politics"
2010 Teppei Yamamoto, Princeton University
2009 Xun Pang, Washington University, St Louis
A Bayesian Probit Hierarchical Model with AR9p) Errors and Non-nested Clustering: Studying Sovereign Creditworthiness and Political Institutions
2006 Roman Ivanchenko, Ohio State University
"Interactions Between the Supreme Court and Congress: A Different Look at the Decision-Making Process"
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up