Skip to Content

Organized Section 1: Daniel Elazar Distinguished Federalism Scholar Award

Federalism & Intergovernmental Relations Section Award Recipients

Daniel Elazar Distinguished Federalism Scholar Award
The Daniel Elazar Distinguished Federalism Scholar Award recognizes distinguished scholarly contributions to the study of federalism and intergovernmental relations.


2018 Fritz Scharpf, Max Planck Institute for the Study of Societies
2017  Liesbet Hooghe, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2017  Gary Marks, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
2016  Ann O'M. Bowman, Texas A&M University 
2015 Craig Volden, University of Virginia 
2014 Richard Feiock, Florida State University
2013 Wallace Oates, University of Maryland
2012 Barry Weingast, Stanford University
2011 Michael Pagano, University of Illinois at Chicago
2010 Richard Simeon, University of Toronto
2009 Elinor Ostrom, Indiana University
2008 Paul Posner, George Mason University
2007 David Forsythe, University of Nebraska
Distinguished Scholar Award
2007 Barry Rabe, University of Michigan
2006 Peter Koehn, University of Colorado, Boulder
2006 William Livingston, University of Texas, Austin
2005 Robert Agranoff, Indiana University
2004 David Beam, Illinois Institute of Technology
2003 Carol Weissert, Florida State University
2002 Timothy Conlan, George Mason University
2001 John Kincaid, Lafayette College
2000 Thomas Anton, Boston University
1999 Joseph Zimmerman, SUNY-Albany
1998 Paul Peterson, Harvard University
1997 Ronald Watts, Queens University
1996 Richard Nathan, SUNY-Albany
1995 David Walker, University of Connecticut
1994 Samuel Beer, Harvard University
1993 Martha Derthick, University of Virginia-Charlottesville
1992 Deil Wright, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Special Achievement Award
1991 Vincent Ostrom, Indiana University
Special Achievement Award
1990 Daniel Elazar, Temple University
Distinguished Achievement Award


American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up