APSA Minority Fellowship Program - Spring 2018 Application

The APSA Minority Fellows Program, established in 1969, aims to increase diversity and the presence of underrepresented individuals in the discipline of political science. Since its inception, the APSA MFP has designated more than 500 fellows and contributed to the successful completion of doctoral political science programs for over 100 individuals. Recently, APSA introduced a new spring round of the MFP awards for graduate students in the pre-dissertation stage of their career. This year the spring cycle MFP awards are available in the form of a one-time award ranging between $500-$1500 (depending on availability of funds), to support expenses related to PhD graduate study for first and second year political science PhD students from underrepresented groups.


  • Applicants must be a first or second year graduate student, and currently enrolled in a political science PhD program. A letter of enrollment verification is required. Please note: Current APSA MFP Fellows are not eligible to apply.
  • Applicants must be members of one of the following under-represented racial/ethnic groups: African Americans, Asian Pacific Americans, Latinos/as, and Native Americans (federal /state recognized tribes).
  • At the time of application, be a US citizen, US national, US permanent resident (holder of a Permanent Resident Card), or an individual granted deferred action status under the Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals Program (DACA) at the time of application
  • Applicants must demonstrate an interest in teaching and potential for research in political science.

Application: The deadline for the spring 2018 application is March 15, 2018. 


Selection: Awards will be announced in June 2018. Profiles of APSA Minority Fellows are published online and in PS: Political Science & Politics.

Visit us at http://www.apsanet.org/mfp for additional application details and to view the bios of previous APSA MFP Fellows. 

Click here to read about the 2017 Spring Minority Fellows.