Skip to Content

Benjamin E. Lippincott Award Recipients

Year Author Work Published by
2015 James Scott Seeing Like a State: How Certain Schemes to Improve the Human Condition Have Failed Yale University Press, 1997
2013 Charles Taylor Sources of the Self Harvard University Press, 1989
2011 Alasdair MacIntyre After Virtue University of Notre Dame, 1981
2009 Kenneth J. Arrow Social Choice and Individual Values Yale University Press, 1951
2009 Jürgen Habermas Structural Transformation of the Public Sphere
MIT Press, 1962
2007 Anthony Downs An Economic Theory of Democracy Harper and Brothers, 1957
2005 Carole Pateman The Sexual Contract Stanford University Press, 1998
2003 Albert O. Hirschman The Passions and the Interests: Political Arguments for Capitalism before Its Triumph
Princeton University Press, 1977
2001 Quentin Skinner Foundations of Modern Political Thought
Cambridge University Press, 1978
1999 William E. Connolly
The Terms of Political Discourse Heath Publishers, 1974
1997 Hanna F. Pitkin The Concept of Representation University of California Press, 1972
1995 Charles E. Lindblom Politics and Markets: The World's Political-Economic Systems
Basic Books, 1977
1993 J.G.A. Pocock The Machiavellian Moment: Florentine Political Thought and the Atlantic Republic Tradition Princeton University Press, 1975
1991Michael WalzerThe Revolutions of the Saints: A Study in the Origins of Radical PoliticsHarvard University Press, 1965
1989Robert A. DahlA Preface to Democratic TheoryUniversity of Chicago Press, 1956
1987John RawlsA Theory of Justice 
1985Sheldon WolinPolitics and Vision 
1984Sir Isaiah BerlinCollected essays on political theory, dating from 1939 through 1969 
1983Duncan BlackThe Theory of Committees and Elections 
1982Michael OakeshottExperience and Its Modes, and two essays, "The Voice of Poetry" and his Introduction to Hobbes' Leviathan  
1981Simone de BeauvoirThe Second Sex 
1980H.L.A. HartThe Concept of Law 
1979C.B. MacphersonThe Political Theory of Possessive Individualism 
1978Eric VoegelinThe New Political Science, and Order and History 
1977Louis HartzThe Liberal Tradition in America
1976Karl PopperThe Open Society and Its Enemies 
1975Hannah ArendtThe Human Condition 
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up