Skip to Content

Hubert H. Humphrey Award Recipients

Year     Recipient
2018    Condoleezza Rice
2017    Lloyd Axworthy, University of Manitoba
2016    Edwin Dorn, University of Texas at Austin
2015    Beverly Scott 
2014    Henry Cuellar, U.S. House of Representatives, State of Texas
2013    Susan E. Rice, Executive Office of the President
2012    Louis Fisher, The Constitution Project
2011    Michael Doyle, Columbia University
2010    General David Petraeus, Department of Defense
2009    Catherine McArdle Kelleher, University of Maryland, College Park
2008    Henry G. Cisneros, former Secretary of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban
            Development and Executive Chairman of CityView
2007    Congressman David Obey, U.S. House of Representatives, Wisconsin
2006    William A. Galston, The Brookings Institution
2005    Richard Solomon, United States Institute of Peace
2004    David Dreier, U.S. House of Representatives, State of California
2003    Mark Hatfield, Former Senator, State of Oregon
2002    Parris N. Glendening, Governor of the State of Maryland
2001    Dennis Ross, Washington Near East Institute
2000    John Ruggie, Colubmia University and Assistant Secretary General, United Nations
1999    Marjorie Mowlam, Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, Britain
1998    Lee Herbert Hamilton, U.S. House of Representatives, State of Indiana
1997    Paul D. Wellstone, U.S. Senate, State of Minnesota
1996    Bruce C. Vladeck, Director, Health Care Financing Administration,
            U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
1995    Madeleine Albright, U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations
1994    Donna E. Shalala, Secretary of Health and Human Services
1993    Richard E. Neustadt, Harvard University
1992    Richard Cheney, Secretary of Defense
1991    Zbigniew Brzezinski, Center for Strategic and International Studies
            C. Payne Lucas, Africare
1990    David E. Price, U.S. House of Representatives
1989    Brent Scowcroft, Special Assistant to the President, National Security Affairs      
1988    Jeane J. Kirkpatrick, Georgetown University
1987    Max M. Kampelman, Head, U.S. Delegation, Negotiations on Nuclear and Space Arms
1986    No award given
1985    Robert C. Wood, Wesleyan University
1984    John Brademas, New York University
1983    Daniel Patrick Moynihan, U.S. Senate, State of New York
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up