Consortium on Qualitative Research Methods


The Consortium on Qualitative Research Methods (CQRM) promotes the teaching and use of qualitative research methods in the social sciences. Its activities include an annual training institute (IQMR), where leading scholars have (to date) taught advanced qualitative methods to more than eight hundred graduate students and faculty.

The institute seeks to enable students to create and critique methodologically sophisticated qualitative research designs, including case studies, tests of necessity or sufficiency, and narrative or interpretive work.

Attendees receive constructive feedback on their own qualitative research designs.

The Institute is held at the same time as a related Research Group on Qualitative and Multi-Method Analysis. While the Institute focuses on teaching research skills, the Research Group encourages the development of qualitative and multi-method research techniques.

CQRM's members in academic year 2009-2010 included departments, centers and/or institutes at: Aarhus University, American University; University of Arizona; Bergen University; Boston University; University of British Columbia; Brown University; University of California, Berkeley; University of California, Irvine; UCLA; University of California, San Diego; Case Western Reserve University ; University of Chicago ; Columbia University; Cornell University; University of Delaware; Duke University; Peace Research Institute Frankfurt ; University of Florida; George Washington University; Georgetown University ; Harvard University ; Hong Kong University of Science and Technology ; Indiana University; Johns Hopkins University; Kent State; Universite Laval; Leuvens University; University of Maryland; University of Massachusetts; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; University of Miami; McGill University; Michigan State University; University of Miami; University of Minnesota; Naval War College; New School for Social Research; Northwestern University; University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; University of Notre Dame; Ohio State University; University of Oklahoma; Oxford University; University of Pennsylvania; University of Pittsburgh; Princeton University; Queen's University; Radboud University; Rutgers University; University of Southern California; University of Southern Denmark; University of Sussex; Syracuse University; University of Texas; University of Toronto; Tufts University; University of Virginia; University of Washington ; Washington State University; Western Michigan University; and Yale University. In addition to students sponsored by members, the 2010 institute also drew individual attendees from University of Amsterdam; Australian National University; Bilkent University; University of California, Riverside; University of California, Santa Barbara; Catholic University of America; Center for Outcomes Research and Education; European University Institute; Georgia Institute of Technology; London School of Economics; Pontificia Universidad Catolica de Chile; and Simon Fraser University.