CQ Press Award for Teaching Innovation 

Nominations are now closed.

The CQ Press Award honors a wide range of new directions in teaching.

The award, supported by CQ Press, carries a cash prize of $500 and financial support for travel costs, and is presented at the APSA Annual Meeting or the APSA Teaching and Learning Conference depending on the year.

Nomination Information

  • Eligibility: Self-nominations are accepted. Nominees do not have to be members of APSA, affiliated with an institution in the United States, or an American citizen in order to be considered for an award.

  • Examples of eligible nominations include a professor that used an innovative course syllabus or a new multimedia approach to reaching students.  All submissions should include:

    • Personal statement (written by the nominee) detailing the teaching innovation, its impact, and why this innovation deserves this honor.
    • Letter of nomination from nominating faculty (if relevant), briefly summarizing the teaching innovation and its impact, and explaining why it deserves this honor.
    • Other supporting documents of nominee and/or nominator’s choosing.



CQ Press Award for Teaching Innovation Award Committee

Year Recipient Affiliation
2020 Jennie Sweet-Cushman Chatham University
2019 Nicole Kalaf-Hughes Bowling Green State University
2018 Eric Loepp University of Wisconsin, Whitewater
2017 Brooke Thomas Allen Macomb Community College
2016 Amanda Rosen Webster University
2015 Victor Asal SUNY, University at Albany
2014 Mika LaVaque-Manty University of Michigan
2013 Brian M. Harward Allegheny College
2011 Marjorie Randon Hershey Indiana University
2010 Jerry Goldman Northwestern University