Skip to Content

International Security and Arms Control Section Award Recipients

More on the International Security and Arms Control section

Kenneth N. Waltz Dissertation Award
Kenneth N. Waltz Dissertation Award is awarded to a successfully defended doctoral dissertation on any aspect of security studies, which has been submitted in final, library copy in previous calendar year. The committee welcomes nominations for dissertations employing any approach (historical, quantitative, theoretical, policy analysis, etc.) to any topic in the field of security studies. Manuscripts are judged according to (1) originality in substance and approach; (2) significance for scholarly or policy debate; (3) rigor in approach and analysis; and (4) power of expression.

Mark Bell, Massachusetts Institute of Technolog
"Nuclear Weapons and Foreign Policy."

Honorable Mention
Peter White, University of Maryland, College Park
"Crises and Crisis Generations: International Conflict and Military Participation on Politics."


Daniel Krcmaric, Duke University
"The Justice Dilemma: International Criminal Accountability, Mass Atrocities, and Civil Conflict.”


Honorable Mention
Carrie Lee, Stanford University
“The Politics of Military Operations”


Joshua Kertzer
"Resolve in International Politics," The Ohio State University, August 2013


Kyle Lascurettes, University of Virginia
"Orders of Exclusion: The Strategic Sources of Order in International Relations,"


Kathryn Cochran, Duke University
"Strong Horse or Paper Tiger? Assessing the Reputational Effects of War Fighting,"


Paul Staniland, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Explaining Cohesion, Fragmentation and Control in Insurgent Groups


Vaidya Gundlupet, University of Chicago
Big Sticks and Contested Carrots: A Power-Centric Theory of International Security

Joseph J. Kruzel Memorial Award for Public Service
The Joseph J.Kruzel Memorial Award for Distinguished Public Service is awarded to a scholar with a distinguished career in national security affairs both as an academic and a public servant. It is given to memorialize Joseph Kruzel, a security studies scholar and Department of Defense policy official who was killed while on a diplomatic mission to Bosnia.


Andrew Marshall, Net Assessment, Department of Defense


Stephen Krasner, Stanford University


Brent Scowcroft, The Scowcroft Group


Catherine Kelleher, Brown University


Joseph Nye Jr., Harvard University

American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up