Skip to Content

Organized Section 21: Ernst B. Haas Best Dissertation Award

European Politics Section Award Recipients

Ernst B. Haas Best Dissertation Award
The Ernst B. Haas Best Dissertation Award is given for the best dissertation on European Politics and Society filed during the previous year.

2017  Robert Braun, Northwestern University
"Religious Minorities and Resistance to Genocide: Christian Protection of Jews In The Low Countries During The Holocaust" Cornell University, 2016.
2017  Honorable Mention
Osman Balkan, Swarthmore College
Death on The Move: Burial, Repatriation, and The Politics of Belonging Among Muslims in Germany" University of Pennsylvania, 2016.
2016  Dawn Langan Teele, University of Pennsylvania 
"The logic of women's enfranchisement: A comparative study of the United States, France, and the United Kingdom" Yale University, 2015 
2015  Scott F. Abramson, Princeton University
“The Economic Origins of the Territorial State.” 
2014 Amanda Garrett, Harvard University
"When Cities Fight Back"
2013 MaryBeth Altier, Pennsylvania State University
"Voting for Violence"
2012 Jordan Gans-Morse, Northwestern University
Building Property Rights: Capitalists and the Demand for Law in Post-Soviet Russia (Completed at the University of California, Berkeley; advised by John Zysman)
2011 Quinton Mayne, Princeton University
"The Satisfied Citizen: Participation, Influence, and Public Perception of Democratic Performance"
2009 Timo Weishaupt, University of Wisconsin, Madison
"The Emergence of a New Labor Market Policy Paradigm? Analyzing Continuity and Change in an Integrating Europe"
2006 Deborah Boucoyannis, Harvard University
"Land, Courts, and Parliaments: The Hidden Sinews of Power in the Emergence of Constitutionalism"
2005 Uwe Puetter, Central European University
"The Eurogroup as a Forum for Informal Deliberation Among Ministers," defended at Queens University, Belfast
2004 Conor O'Dwyer, University of California, Berkeley
"Runaway State-Building: How Parties Shape States in Post-Communist Eastern Europe," 2003
2004 Honorable Mention
Riccardo Pelizzo, Johns Hopkins University
"Cartel Parties and Cartel Party Systems"
2004 Honorable Mention
Gail McElroy, University of Rochester
"In Pursuit of Party Discipline: Committees and Cohesion in the European Parliament"
2003 Daniel Ziblatt, University of California, Berkeley
"Constructing a Federal State: Poitical Development, Path Dependence, and the Origins of Federalism in Modern Europe, 1815-1871"
American Political Science Association
1527 New Hampshire Ave NW
Washington, DC 20036-1206
(202) 483-2512 • Fax: +1 (202) 483-2657

Scroll Up